My body has a horrible sense of timing

It started last night at my father’s retirement party-After the speeches, nachos and talking with my dad’s family-my throat started to hurt..bad!. I figured it was because I was talking too much, but it continued and is worse today.

Just fucking great. I’ll be visiting people who I haven’t seen in awhile and I just want to curl up into my bed and will the burning throat and pounding in my head away.

I still went to work today though. I just had to bribe myself with Tim Hortons first in order to get my ass over here. It was somewhat embarassing at the donut shop.  I entered the place looking like ‘Night of the living office drone’, sauntered over to the counter to order caffeine-sugar-orange juice and then in my eagerness to get some cool, liquid down my throat, spilled it all over the counter and myself. The gal serving me, probably thought I was some kind of crazy oj junkie. LOL.

So I have two birthday parties to go to, shopping in Westborough and a BBQ on Sunday. My immune system better shape up and send this thing packing or else its going to be a boring-ass weekend.

20 thoughts on “My body has a horrible sense of timing

  1. raino

    jeesh, poor you hannah! sounds like strep?? big of a clutz like MOI eh? no worries though, i’ve done that with WINE!

    may i suggest that anytime over the weekend that you are NOT partying or entertaining, SLEEP.

    hell, that sounds like fun to me! drink, sleep, drink, sleep …

    have a fun weekend regardless okay.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Raino-I frickin’ hope its not strep! Oh yeah, I’m a huge klutz. Nice to hear that I’m in good company though.:)
    I plan on sleeping…a lot. Hopefully it will help.

    You have a good weekend too!

  3. kerri

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well! As Raino said, do try to squeeze some rest in there, it really does work wonders. Hope you get better and have a great weekend!

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Kerri-I will try and get lots of sleep. Probably with the help of cold meds, but still. I hope you have a healthier weekend!:)
    LiLu-Sucks eh? Though I bet my hubby will be glad that I will be mute for a few days and won’t be nagging him incessantly to clean up the “man cave” aka. the basement.
    Robin-LOL. Yeah, better watch out for us crazy orange addicts!

  5. quackattack

    Urgh – I’m feeling sick, too! I thought it was just allergies making my sinuses and throat scratchy … but the fever yesterday made me realize I’ve come down with a bug of some sort … and my social calendar is packed!

    Hope you feel better soon 🙂

  6. Marie

    Oh no. That’s just not cool. i think there needs to be a rule where no one is allowed to get past winter.

    Get loads of rest and use my all time favorite remedy: put some honey in a cup, pour hot water over it, add half a squeezed lemon and lastly pour in a bit of whiskey.

    Feel better soon!

  7. hannah78 Post author

    Quackattack-It figures eh? Minute we turn into social butterflies, our body decides to be sick.:P
    Marie-That’s exactly what I thought this morning when I woke up. Sick in Spring? That should not be possible! I think I will try that recipe. Thanks!

  8. Chris

    You are a true trooper to drag yourself out and to work when you’re feeling ill. Hope things get better for you and the “burning” sensation goes away soon!

  9. pinklea

    Yeah, try to sleep as much as you can. And drink. Alcohol kills germs – I think. Or if it doesn’t, at least you don’t care any more.

  10. hannah78 Post author

    Chris-I am a trooper for going to work. (Though the people there probably think “Ah..get away!!Go home!”)
    Wandering Coyote-They really don’t, just like the time of the month.
    Raino-LOL! You just had to remind me of that didn’t you? 😉
    Pinklea-Alcohol must do something beneficial. Surely it must!

  11. olivia

    Oh no — hope it’s not strep (strep and bronchitis are being passed around our office — eek!) … Hope you’re feeling better!

  12. XUP

    Poor you. But for next time, the worst thing for your immune system is sugar. Cold FX works great if you have some at the first signs of impending illness.

  13. hannah78 Post author

    Olivia-Better not be strep.:P
    Get off my lawn-I can!
    Linda-Thank you
    XUP-I know sugar is bad but I needed the powdered fried goodness in order to provide some motivation. I will try that Cold FX, thanks!:)

Leave a comment