Supermoon!

Saturday was the night of the “Perigee Moon”-The time when the moon reaches it’s closest distance to Earth! We were also lucky because it was a full moon so that made it extra special. Here is a photo of this super moon:

Doesn’t really look 14% bigger than a regular moon but hey, at least I have photos! It was actually Hubby who took the pictures, because my body decided to get ill that night. Yes, if it wasn’t for my sudden lack of immunity, I would have been out there with all the other amateur astronomoy nuts snapping photos of our satellite earlier that night when it was closest to the horizon, because that’s when it looks REALLY big!

But Hubby also got this really cool shot:

The moon behind some trees….eerie!  He’s a good photographer though and a great help. Being sick is no fun, but it helps to have a husband who indulges me and my many zany interests.

Did you guys see the moon? Did you take photos?

19 thoughts on “Supermoon!

  1. Laura

    Love the photo with the tree branches. Very cool. Robin @Watawalife took some great photos too. I didn’t think the moon looked bigger…but it sure was beautiful. Hope you are feeling better Pauline. Sorry to hear you got sick. :(

  2. neeroc

    I got to admire the moon once we left the Sens game. It was pretty cool, but I was too tired when I got home to haul out the telescope. Sorry to hear you were sick, hope you’re feeling better.

  3. Jen

    I did because a good firend told me that afternoon to check it out ;) We caught it when it was fat, yellow and low in the sky. Didn’t snap any pics, but we stood in our darkened kitchen ooohing over how awesome it was. Thanks for the heads up!

  4. leashieloo

    Love the photos! I saw the moon, but I couldn’t really detect a difference…maybe I was in a bad spot? At any rate, it was very clear and bright, it was still nice!

  5. Laura Best

    Great photos. I got a few shots. Used the same idea with the trees, but I quickly found out that night time photos are not easy to get. I like that the craters can be seen in your photo.

    Last month we were in a place when the moon came up over the horizon and I’ve got to say we were much more impressed. Must have been our location. Still beautiful!

  6. The Hipster

    I love the full moon. I never get tired of it — every month I look forward to it, much moreso now that I don’t have students who go loony.

    I was flying (well, riding on an airplane) as the moon rose and with all the hubbub of finding my car in the long term parking lot, etc., I didn’t remember to look up until just after I’d put my camera away. It was stunning! I regret that I didn’t get home in time to watch it over the water.

    I hope you’re feeling better.

  7. Pauline Post author

    Laura-Thanks and I went over to Watawalife. That is a great photo! They don’t have the comment section turned on though, so I couldn’t say that there.

  8. Pauline Post author

    Neeroc-I didn’t take out my telescope either, because there’s still snow and mud on the ground. I did take out my binoculars though!

  9. Godless Lawyer

    Laura Best – took me FOREVER to find the right settings to get those craters to show!

  10. Zhu

    I tried to take photo but I think there is too much light in my neighborhood and I keep on having ghost lights reflections in my zoom lens. I was able to see it clearly though.

    I like both of your shots! Your husband’s shot looks like the one I saw recently in one of the newspapers… the Ottawa Citizen maybe.

  11. Pauline Post author

    The Hipster-That would have been something to see the full perigee moon from an airplane, ah well. At least you saw it eventually though. Thanks I am feeling better!:)

  12. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-When I got outside, I didn’t notice a huge difference either. Shucks! But as you said, it was clear and bright here too which was great!

  13. Pauline Post author

    Zhu-That’s too bad that there is too much light pollution in your area. We live in the burbs so it’s not as strong. My husband says thanks!

Leave a Reply

