First Days in Niagara Falls

After arriving at our delux anniversary suite, we walked around the area to check it out. Here are some photos of the touristy and tacky area, that is on the way to the falls:

Dino Golf!

Hershey Store!

and finally the falls themselves!:

The next day, we checked out a bird sanctuary-Bird Kingdom. As mentioned, I am a little nervous around larger birds, but I will jump at the chance to look at and pet animals, bird fear be damned. Bird Kingdom also had reptiles, bats and amphibians at this place and I recommend visiting it if you’re in the area:

Here is an iguana that was just sitting there on the steps hanging out.

Iguanas are another creature that I am weary of, but unlike the more ‘sociable with humans’ creatures known as birds, they do not make good pets ! I used to volunteer at a place like this and that was my take away experience from that job-Don’t get an iguana! They whip their tails at you, bite, scratch and pretty much take over your house! We spoke to an employee there and I mentioned my ‘keep the iguanas in the wild’ stance and he agreed, however, he mentioned that the iguana on the steps was quite friendly. A sucker for a chin scratch.  So perhaps it is not that all of them are constantly aggressive, just most of them.  I mentioned that the males tend to be more aggressive than the females and he countered with: “The meanest one here is a female. See her over there?”  He pointed towards a grouchy looking iguana peering at us in a tank, “Yeah I feel bad for this guy, because I have to remove him from the stairs at night and put him in the tank with her and she is REALLY mean!”

Poor guy. That bitchy iguana kinda reminded me of my bitchy coworker. ;)

After leaving this room, we ventured out into the more bird centric areas of the place. One room had little birds tweeting and flying from trees to the windows. They were a variety of dazzling colours:

Another room had a waterfall and larger birds all zooming about, including some cool ones near the ceiling:

We were also divebombed by some crazy red birds! They came flying right at us! It happened so fast, I didn’t get a photo, but I laughed my ass off afterwards. But here are two more, not quite so fast birds:

Hubby pointed at some neat ones up high. There was an American woman who walked around next to us and seemed to really like birds, so I gently touched her arm and pointed towards the same birds.

“Isn’t this place amazing?”, she sighed, “I’m in heaven!”

I don’t know about “heaven”, but the place was pretty neat. Next up, Maid of the Mist, a Haunted Castle, hanging out with Travis and Dave and Niagara on the Lake..

17 thoughts on “First Days in Niagara Falls

  1. thoughtsappear

    Great pics! I haven’t been to Niagara Falls in a few years, and now I really want to go back. I can’t wait to see how you liked the Maid of the Mist!

  2. Laura

    I’ve never known anyone with a pet iguana, but they look scary to me. Brave of you to give him a little chin scratch. I think your photos are great!

  3. Zhu

    I didn’t know there was a bird sanctuary, I have to check it out next time!

    Niagara Falls is tacky but the kind of tacky that makes me smile.

  4. VioletSky

    I’ve not been to the bird sanctuary, though I have been to see the butterflies. And I always manage to drive past the tacky Clifton Hill… so thanks for these pics to see what I have been missing!

  5. Jen

    yay Niagara! I shall call the chin-scratch-loving iguana “Jub-Jub” :)

    Looking forward to hearing about your time with Travis & Dave and Niagara on the Lake!

  6. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear and Lone Grey Squirrel-I’m going to post about the Maid of the Mist today! :)
    Bevchen-They are super cute!

  7. Pauline Post author

    Laura-They are scary, it was good to see a more easy going one though!
    Zhu-The bird sanctuary is worth seeing! Tacky always makes me smile! :)

  8. Pauline Post author

    VioletSky-Happy to oblige! :)
    Laura Best-I asked in the Hershey store if they sell chocolates that big, but unfortunately not. It probably would’ve been hard to strap it to the car and prevent it from melting anyways! ;)
    Godless Lawyer-I did!
    Jen-Jub-Jub! It was a blast with our FGF’s!
    Kate-Jump the border and c’mon over!

  9. leashieloo

    This brings back sooo many memories, I love Niagara! We didn’t go to Bird Kingdom though, I always feel like birds are out to get me….lol.

  10. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo-Well the Red Touracos certainly seemed to be out to get us! LOL. It’s a fun place though. I recommend seeing it next time you’re in the area. :)

Leave a Reply

