Versatile!

B has nominated me for a Versatile Blogger award. Thanks B!

Here are the rules for the award:

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along to 15 recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading.
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

Here goes:

1. I’m an animal lover, but am mildly allergic. It’s annoying, but I’m too stubborn and too much of an animal nut to give up my pets.

2. Like everyone else, I’ve got flaws, but I feel like I’ve made major progress in improving or at least softening them a bit, the past while. And one of my year round resolutions is to be less hard on myself and others, happiness comes when you (finally) learn to listen to your inner voice but still realize that you and others are bound to mess up now and then. The important thing is to learn from your own and others imperfections.

3. If I had my way, the sincerely talented and those who actually contribute positively to society would get their own “reality” shows along with the compensation, while the majority of the ones currently on TV would be forced into menial jobs where their inner narcissist beast is rarely indulged or encouraged.

4. I don’t understand why women find Tom Cruise, that greasy Twilight guy, Shia LeBoeuf or Ryan Gosling attractive. I’ve had crushes on “popular” male celebrities before, but these guys don’t inspire much in me except boredom. (And eye rolling at Tom Cruise and his “Psychiatry/psychiatric medicine is evil because Scientology told me so” rants)

5. After my undergrad, I wanted to make films and had seriously considered studying at Ryerson for Film Production and even went to their open house with my father years ago. However, the idea of having to move to Toronto and into a dorm in order to pursue such a lofty career that is insanely competitive and fickle scared the hell out of me, so I decided against doing it.

6. I would love to finish at least one of my stories and maybe, if I’m really lucky, see them published. I have some solid ideas but have a hell of a time fleshing them out and writing good endings. But there are some local writing workshops and groups that I’d like to check out.

7. If despite more writing, research and attending literary social events, number 6 still doesn’t work out, I will happily accept designing book/magazine covers as a compromise. Illustrating graphic novels/comics is also very appealing to me. I am a visual artist first and foremost, plus this would provide a great excuse to feed my voracious reading appetite.

So now I have to pass this award along, but I don’t have the time to list 15, so here are seven great blogs, discovered in the past year or so- Laura Best, Always Hungry, Thoughtsappear, Blunt Delivery, Heartfelt, Avocadoexplosion and Mod Mischief.(I may have known about this blog longer than that, but her site is so cool, I just had to include it!)

11 thoughts on “Versatile!

  1. leashieloo

    You and me both on #6, I’m making this the year! Have you heard of NaNoWriMo? It’s pretty much a marathon novel writing event. I didn’t participate last year, but I like the idea of setting a month deadline to at least FINISH something!

  2. Pauline Post author

    Leashieloo- I’ve heard of it and some of my friends participated in last year’s NaNoWriMo. It sounds pretty brutal, but having a deadline is good incentive for finishing a story. Are you going to do it this year, I would love to read your stuff.:)

  3. Pauline Post author

    Thoughtsappear-Good to hear, considering how popular they are. I thought I was the only one who wasn’t obsessed with any of them!

  4. Laura Best

    Thanks so much for passing this along to me as well, Pauline.. I feel honoured to be included..

    As for #6 –” I have some solid ideas but have a hell of a time fleshing them out ” I starting to notice that when a story I’m working at takes more time than I think it should I tend to get discouraged and start working on something new. This, I am working at to change by trudging through with the story I’m working on and ignoring the new one that is whispering in my ear. It will just have to wait.

    Happy New Year!

  5. Pauline

    Laura Best-No problem and I’m happy to hear that I’m not the only one with this problem. You’ve “trudged through” and come up with some great and published stuff!

    Lone Grey Squirrel-Some women are weird eh? Ah well, I guess attraction is all relative..

Leave a Reply

