We Changed our Minds…

After a few nights of mixed feelings, we decided not to take the dog poop/smoker’s place and describing it like that definitely makes me feel that we made the right decision. The owner just didn’t seem too enthusiastic about cleaning the place up and frankly, I don’t want to give money every month to someone who can’t be bothered to clean up a dump (even one that’s in a good location) to rent it to the next tenants.

But the main thing that changed my mind is after doing some research, I discovered that indoor cigarette smoke lingers loooong after the smokers move out, even if we repainted and cleaned like crazy (Which, I’ll reiterate, we shouldn’t have to do). I’ve got asthma/allergies and don’t want the pets to get sick either, so it’s a big no.

Smokers-Quit, it’s a filthy habit that is slowly killing you and everyone around you, but if you must smoke, do it OUTSIDE!

The next place we looked at is a small place at a great location. A young girl answered the door and we found similar young people scattered all over the place. Apparently, after going to school and living together, they really don’t like each other anymore and are anxious to get away from their shared house. The place was nice and well located but kinda small, plus the parking was at this creepy garage down the path, and I would prefer our own garage or car port. (Being alone in a shared garage at night makes me paranoid)

Last night, we spontaneously decided to look at a place being advertised by a realtor. The place was really nice inside and the rent was in the $1200’s, which is cheap, but it was TINY and squished in between other houses. We have a lot of stuff and need a bit of space. I’m not expecting a mansion obviously, but a bit more room would be appreciated!

The hunt continues….

12 thoughts on “We Changed our Minds…

  1. Get Off My Lawn

    Interestingly, smoking outside doesn’t always save you. A doctor told a friend of mine that after smoking, they were supposed to shower and change clothes before holding their baby. Best advice is to not smoke.

  2. Pauline Post author

    Get off My Lawn-Best advice indeed is not to smoke and if I had my way, it would be banned everywhere. I really don’t know how anyone in this day and age can still smoke.

  3. Finola

    It sounds like you made a good choice in turning down that place. Ugh.
    I hope you find something soon…renting in Ottawa isn’t easy as I remember.

  4. Juliette Giannesini (@Xiaozhuli)

    I’m not a big smoker and I think it’s partially because I have never ever smoked indoors ANYWHERE, and that include hotel room, our place, restaurants and caf├ęs (back when you could) etc.

    I wish people would give smoker a break though. I’m sorry but the showering/changing clothes advice seem ridiculous, unless you also change and bleach after riding the bus (see the black smoke on OC Transpo buses?), never use any chemical etc. I just hate witch-hunts, sorry, nothing personal ;-)

    I wouldn’t have rented the place either, from what you describe it sounds like hell.

  5. Pauline Post author

    Juliette Giannesini-Well that’s good that you’ve never smoked indoors, not many people do nowadays which is great because it seems disrespectful to do it indoors. (Although most places won’t let you anyways) I know my stance on smoking is a bit severe, but I was admitted to the hospital for weeks when I was a child because of smoking, it literally makes me very sick! I’ve seen it’s very negative effects on people too, and it left a strong impression on me. My apologies if this offends you or anyone else, but that’s pretty much where I’m coming from. But if I’m out with someone and they smoke outside, I don’t nag or tell them what to do, I just tell them that I’ll wait for them inside. :)

    Anyways, the place was pretty messy and there could have been even bigger problems that the landlord wouldn’t have wanted to fix either, so it’s good we dodged that bullet.

  6. Pauline Post author

    LA Cochran-Thanks! It took a couple of nights of staring up at the ceiling in worry, but I think we made the right decision.

  7. Pauline Post author

    Finola-Renting in Ottawa isn’t easy, particularly if you’re looking for a house, but at least we’re not facing Toronto or Vancouver type rents, yikes!

  8. Juliette Giannesini (@Xiaozhuli)

    I can completely understand where you come from. I have a similar severe stance towards alcohol because I’ve seen so many drunks and so many tragedies caused by alcohol when I lived in France that frankly, I hate it. French have issues with booze and they don’t realize it, in Brittany it’s so normal to drink… so drunk people or booze stories don’t make me laugh. But hey, 99% of people enjoy drinking a bit and have no problem with it, just don’t ask me to drink!

    As long as people respect each other’s pet peeve, life is easy. Hey, I wouldn’t rent a place owned by smokers who indulge indoors. I’m not crazy!

    I’m not offended, no worries ;-)

  9. leashieloo

    Good luck on your search! I must admit, while moving was a pain, I really enjoyed looking for new places and getting to know new areas. I have a terrible case of wanderlust.

Leave a Reply

