Me vs Junk Mail

junk1I hate junk mail. I hate it almost as much as pushy telemarketers and door-to-door salesmen.  Junk mail is persistent, annoying and oh so wasteful. Most junk mail is picked up from a mail box and immediately deposited into a recycle bin or worse, a garbage can.  Junk mail has a 2% response rate. 2%!! Makes you wonder what the hell is the point?

In an effort to cut down on unaddressed admail, I put up a sign on my mailbox that that asks for no more flyers or local newspapers. (They cram a big wad of junk mail in the newspapers)

But I still get the crap in my PO box! So, I’m joining the Red Dot Campaign and sending a letter to Canada Post asking the to cease and desist with the admail.

This is one simple step I’m doing to help the environment (Yes, I know I sound like an advertisement, lol) and the unnecessary destruction of trees. To become part of this initiative go to: http://www.reddotcampaign.ca/

But basically all you have to do is put up a sign on your mail box asking for no more junk mail. If it continues, you can print off a page and send it to Canada Post.  The website also has helpful hints on other ways to save paper and reduce unsolicited contact. Go take a look, its worth it!

9 thoughts on “Me vs Junk Mail

  1. aandjblog

    I have to say, I’m probably one of the few that loves junk mail. Going through flyers is my favorite thing to do on a Saturday morning with a cup of coffee.

    I don’t think I’ll be writting a letter, but I do see where you are coming from. If I know anyone else that feels the same way about flyers, I will be sure to mention this to them.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Aandjblog-Well I guess that puts you in the 2%. Personally, I like to check a store’s website to look for sales. But I understand not everyone wants to do that. If you have friends who might be interested in cutting down on junk mail, please refer them to the site. Thanks!

  3. XUP

    Junk mail is all that’s keeping Canada Post afloat these days. Nobody writes letters anymore. Bills are all electronic. The crazy thing is that all those so-called “deals” in the flyers – aren’t. They put one or two things on special to get you in the store knowing you’ll buy other stuff at inflated prices to make up for the discounts. If you like seeing who’s offering what you can do that online, too.

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Matt-Man-LOL, well don’t you worry, even without the junkmail, I’m sure the telemarketers will still call you.;)
    Miss Chris-Indeed!
    XUP-Yep, a lot of stuff is electronic, which is great in my opinion. As for junk mail keeping Canada Post afloat, you might be right, but there has to be another way for them to keep their jobs and have people think more environmentally.

  5. ktikat

    While I don’t live in Canada, I do think you’ve inspired me to get in touch with the local free newspaper and tell them to stop delivering it. It’s a straight-to-the-recycle bin item for sure.

    I read about this somewhere, and I can’t say it “works,” but sometimes revenge is good: With all the stuff that comes that includes a postage-paid envelope (credit card apps are big on this), put all the crap they included in the pre-paid envelope and send it back to them (not filled out, of course). The company has to pay for the postage on that, then they have to open it up to find out that you didn’t actually open an account with them. Supposedly, if you do this consistently, they’ll get the hint and stop sending you stuff.

  6. hannah78 Post author

    Ktikat-Great! Glad to hear it and posting a note on your mailbox usually works too.:) Your ‘revenge’ idea sounds good too, I’ll have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

