A new year of flowers and tacky dresses

orchid2

For all the people who braved the cold weather to protest the 48-day transit strike, here is a flower. (Well two actually). I’m not sure if your actions will actually speed up putting an end to this insane bullshit, but kudos to your gumption.

Anyways, the weekend was good-On Saturday, I went to martial arts class and the wheels have slowly began turning in my brain again in terms of remembering katas, kicks, self defense techniques, throws, etc.  (I was on a sabbatical from MA for awhile) On Sunday, my mother-in-law and I went to a vintage clothing sale that was held in someone’s house. The woman who organized the sale buys old clothes and then resells them to the vintage hungry. Which would normally include myself, but most of the clothing was A) Tacky and/or B) VERY ill fitting. In fact, I saw a girl strut around in a dress that had a giant bow on the ass. She liked it, but honestly, I would never wear that much material on my derriere. (Unless it was for a safety device, less I slip on the ice and fall on my butt) I also found a number of dresses like these, in various shades like bubblegum (come ca ici), vomit green, pea green, mustard yellow and all of the colours mixed together:pink_dress_340x490

So needless to say, I didn’t buy anything. One other problem with vintage clothing-The hats are shoes are far too tiny for me. Its like women used to be munchkins or something. So weird.

Today is Chinese New Year so – xīnnián kwailè- to you! (Sorry if I spelled it wrong, Mandarin is still fairly new to me) There’s a guy at my work who’s from Hong Kong and used to teach Chinese to CBC (Canadian Born Chinese) kids. He’s been teaching me a few phrases and trying not to laugh too hard at my (mis) pronunciation.

8 thoughts on “A new year of flowers and tacky dresses

  1. quackattack

    Can I just say how much I love that you used the word “gumption” in this post? I’ve decided I’m going to find ways to integrate it into my regular vocabulary 😛

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Quackattack-It is a nice word indeed! Have fun saying it more often! 🙂
    Caffeinatrix-Well other women were buying dresses like that pink dress, so you’re not the only one drawn to it.

  3. Daisy

    Oh, I’m kinda loving the dress – NOT!

    I have one of those dresses with the big bow on the butt – it was from a wedding when I was a bridesmaid in the 80’s. Since then, I’ve worn that dress again at halloween (and had pretend blood dripping and wielding a knife) as I pretended to be one of those prom chicks who go on a killing spree.

    Daisy

Leave a Reply

