Weekend of cupcakes, hearts and pain!

lemon-cupcakes1

 The weekend was..mostly good. I took Friday off, watched ‘Mad Men’ with the hubby and made these lemon cupcakes. On Saturday-Valentines Day-I made a heart shaped pizza and we went out for dinner. (Oh and the hubby followed the tips from my previous post, yay!)

heartpizza1

The main crappy part of the weekend occurred on Sunday while I was helping my instructor with a self defense seminar. He was going over pressure points and demonstrated the mandibular angle  technique on me and holy crap! Pain city! It normally hurts, but this time, the pain was excruciating and followed me all the way home! (Where I had to take happy robax pills) Its better now, but I am definitely booking a trip to the dentist to find out what the hell is wrong with my jaw. Anyone else have pain in this area?

19 thoughts on “Weekend of cupcakes, hearts and pain!

  1. XUP

    Ya!! It comes from clenching your teeth at night and/or leaning your chin on your hands a lot during the day. There’s a whole syndrome associated with it — TMJ.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-Yep, all it takes is a heart shaped cake pan!:) Next time you should try it!:)
    XUP-Yeah teeth clenching is what my mom said its probably from. Looks like I’ll probably be forced to wear a super “sexy” mouthguard at night.:P
    J-Thanks but I can’t take the credit! I stole the idea from an old issue of a woman’s magazine.:)
    Its my own ‘secret’ sauce though.;)
    Lost Artist-My right jaw cracks too if I open my mouth too wide. You might want to see your dentist too, just in case. Thank you for the compliment on the cupcakes, they have been disappearing pretty quickly! 🙂

  3. quackattack

    OMG – those cupcakes … to DIE for!
    I’ve been battling with the jaw pain for years … finally getting my night-bite-guard tomorrow. I believe the incident which made me finally realize it was a necessity was when a dr at a clinic poked me in the jaw with one finger and asked “Does this hurt?” which I wrenched back from in excruciating pain.

    … the answer was obviously, “YES!!!”

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Leah-Sure you can live with us! I could always use more “guinea pigs” to try my food experiments on. 😉
    Quackattack-Aww, thank you.:) Man, I bet you wanted to punch that Doctor eh? But I’m happy that I’m not alone in my suffering. 🙂
    Robin-Yeah, but the lemon slices give it that extra bit of “lemoniness”. Next time, I’ll make cherry cupcakes, just for you. 🙂

  5. Nat

    I have TMJ, I also get pain if you press on my temples. (It’s odd.)

    My RMT does a massage for the pain that really helps and turns me to jello.

    PS. — Love that link — locate your earlobe. (Now, where did put those.)

  6. Mim

    Ok, from the “honey smell this, it really is awful” department, I actually followed the link about the jaw pain to see if I could do it to myself. When I couldn’t find it after the first three attempts, it finally popped into my head. WHAT DO I THINK I’M DOING!

    The lemony cupcakes look very very yummy.

  7. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-No, I’m not on the mailing list but I would love to meet all the Ottawa bloggers for breakfast.:) I will definitely send you an email. Thanks!
    JoLee-Thank you. I’m looking forward to posting more:)
    Mim-LOL, I do that too! (Getting my significant other to try stuff that is really terrible!) But I would not recommend fiddling too much in the jaw/ear area. Trust me! 😉

  8. Jobthingy

    oh that pizza is awesome!

    i was invited to a selfdefence thing by my coworker that day actually. but i couldnt go cause i was working.. she was there tho. now i wonder if it was the same one *giggles*

    and yes! come to the breakfast!

  9. hannah78 Post author

    Jobthingy-Thanks! What a small world that would be if it was the same self defense class! If so, you missed out on some fun:D (Well, except for the jaw pain)
    I am looking forward to the breakfast.

Leave a Reply

