Feelin’ blue

farsidechickendepressionAnyone else feeling really depressed and angry lately? I am and its driving me nuts! I think its from the weather…or the disturbed sleep. I wake up about a zillion times during the night! Then the next day, the sunlight feels like its stabbing into my sleep deprived brain, giving me headaches!

I don’t think its just me though because some of my coworkers are being really pissy right now too!  (Its creating an interesting work environment where the main form of communication are grunts and nods.)

I’m also feeling majorly restless but am also too tired to actually do something constructive, like paint or get off my ass and exercise. This leads to guilt, which leads to sadness, which leads to anger which leads to sleepiness and then the cycle continues. (Yoda, I am not!;)

So how are you guys doing out there emotionally in bloggerland? Are you feeling the same way or am I just plain looney?

Picture-“The Far Side” by Gary Larson

21 thoughts on “Feelin’ blue

  1. aandjblog

    I’m feeling the same way, more depressed and restless. I feel that I’m waiting for something exciting to happen and it never comes.

  2. Lost Artist

    Aww. I’m actually doing fairly well, b/c some of the major stressors in my life have chilled out lately. It sounds like we have one thing in common though- We’re both completely sick of winter. So I have good news: the weather today is the coldest it will be for the rest of the week, meaning it’s going to get warmer, and next week is March so maybe it will get even warmer! I realize that I have no idea what the weather is like in your area, but I think that this is something to look forward to. Let thoughts of Spring coming soon cheer you up!

  3. hannah78 Post author

    Aandjblog-I know! Its so repetitive and boring right now! I’m going to have to find something to spice things up though. 🙂
    Lost Artist-Glad you’re doing well and I pray your right about the weather. Please get warm soon!
    Jobthingy-You’re probably right and its frustrating because its out of everyone’s control. Ah well, hopefully Spring will come soon!

  4. Robin

    Seriously, I just wrote a post about that for tomorrow…almost exactly the same thing. It sucks, so fucking bad. It’s a partly private post so you may have to get a login name and that stuff.

  5. germturtle

    I know exactly what it’s like to feel like you lack the energy to take control of your life and do the things you want to do. For me, I think part of it is the knowledge that no matter what I do I’ll never be completely in control of my own destiny.

    Carl von Clausewitz called it ‘the fog of war’ – those things for which no amount of advance planning or strategy could compensate for. I feel like I’m trapped in that fog lately.

    I think we’ll just have to tough it out, and remember that just because it doesn’t SEEM like it will be worth doing anything constructive, we’ll probably still feel better for having done it.

  6. hannah78 Post author

    Germturtle-Welcome to my blog and thank for leaving a comment. 🙂 Yeah, you’re right, I should just do the stuff I put off, its just difficult when you’re sleep deprived like I am. But starting today, I will start checking off those pesky ‘to-dos’! Promise.
    LiLu-Hahah! Those are great and if I don’t stop being lazy soon, I’m going to resemble the woman in the second one!

  7. aandjblog

    hey i just caught your last post in my google reader.. work related blogging is tricky.. although I 100% agree with you, and have very similar coworkers at my work too.. it’s risky to blog about them here… but I think you already caught that.. cheer up.. grab a starbucks tea and relax.

  8. Elliot Ross

    The February Blah’s 🙂

    Just like Wednesday is the hump day of the week –

    February is the hump month of winter.

    It is the “month” work that is the pain in that ass (er sorry – backside)

    Sigh.

    You are not aloooonnnneee……….

  9. hannah78 Post author

    Aandjblog-Well, I think as long as you don’t name names and try to keep conversations between you and your colleagues off the blog, it should be o.k. I actually like most of my coworkers, even if they are being cranky. I think I will take your advice though and grab a tea. 🙂
    Elliot Ross-LOL! ‘Hump month’! I like that! Only four more days of hump-ing. Heheh, sorry couldn’t resist! 😉
    XUP-Blah indeed! I need some sugar!;)

  10. prettylittletangents

    I was exactly where you were about 2 weeks ago. I’m not all rainbows and teddy bears, but I’m def in a better spot now. Things that helped me: copious amounts of red wine (might have had some detrimental effects, but, for the most part, helpful); setting time to hang out with my best friend; MAKING my ass go to the gym. It sucks getting there but my friend gave me this piece of advice that I’ve found to be true: you never leave the gym and say to yourself “i feel worse now than when i got here”.

    The good thing is that it’s just a phase. Take care – I hope you get to feeling better soon!

  11. hannah78 Post author

    Robin-O.k. I’ll try and register and see how it goes.:)
    Prettylittletangents-I do love me some wine, but it is those darn “detrimental” effects that prevent me from consuming too much of it. Ah well, a nice glass at the end of this week can’t hurt. I really should exercise, you’re right. Thank you for your input and hopefully it will pass soon!
    Leah-Don’t you hate those chickens? Too bad I’m a vegetarian! Or else I’d serve them up with a nice side of rice! 😉

Leave a Reply

