Saturday’s events

Yesterday was a nice day-It began with breakfast with fellow Ottawan bloggers and then proceeded with a nice walk in the Spring-type weather and ended with hubby and I watching more “Madmen”.

logo_big

It was great to meet other local bloggers and I’d like to thank XUP and Zoom for setting the whole thing up. I’d also like to apologize to Raino, since I was obviously the klutziest blogger at this event and she got the brunt of it. LOL. What happened was my husband, me, Raino and RG were sitting together at a table and my husband passed me a container of hot sauce without securing the lid. (I swear he did this on purpose! LOL) And so hot sauce went flying onto the floor and some ended up in Raino’s hair, who tried to help me clean it up.  Sorry Raino! And people wonder why I don’t like to go skating! LOL. Anyways, everyone was very friendly and the food was surprisingly good. (I underestimated breakfast pub food) After brunch, my husband and I took Selena out for a walk in the wonderful 12 C weather. Selena was probably the most eager to get outside and enjoy the Spring weather.selwalk1

There were puddles and mush everywhere and it didn’t take long for her to get soaking wet and filthy

selwalk2

When we got to the park, I was still in the mood to take some pictures, so here are some more:spring1

That patch of grass at the top of that hill gives me hope.:) Here’s the final one for today:spring3

After the park, I made dinner and we watched more “Madmen“. If you haven’t seen this series before, go out and rent some dvd’s. Its great! The show basically revolves around men who work in advertising in Manhatten during the early 1960s. (They were nicknamed Madmen) It exposes the challenges they face in their personal and professional lives as well as their personality quirks. It also gives an unflinching portrayal of life during that time; The good, the bad and the ugly. (ie. The constant smoking/drinking and blatant racism and sexism that was pervasive throughout society) Its an interesting look into the past.

So that was my Saturday and today I’ll be cleaning, cooking and going out with another group of strangers (Online vegetarians) for dinner. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Fox and Feather pic-http://www.foxandfeather.ca/

10 thoughts on “Saturday’s events

  1. Nat

    It was great to me you and Hubs. Glad I avoided flying hotsauce 🙂 What a cute dog.

    Looks like it’ll be another beautiful day out there today.

  2. Dr. Monkey

    Your spring looks like our winter. It’s sunny and 75 here in east Tennessee right this minute.

  3. quackattack

    I heart MadMen so much … Joanie is so my personal style icon right now … glad you’re enjoying it! 🙂

  4. raino

    was great meeting you hannah and hubs and no worries re: the hot sauce. thankfully i had to wash my hair that evening anyhow lol. next time we need to get you a special name tag that reads ‘ watch for flying hot sauce ‘ okay? lol.

  5. hannah78 Post author

    Nat-It was cool to meet you too and wish I could have had more time to chat.:) Enjoy the nice weather!
    Dr.Monkey-I’m jealous of your Tennesse weather! Ah well, the rest of that snow will melt soon:)
    Jobthingy-It was great to meet you too! Nice to put a face to the “macaroni”. 😉
    QuackAttack-Yeah, Joan is beautiful. I’d love to be able to go through her wardrobe.:)
    Raino-It was great to meet you as well and thank you for not freaking out about your ‘new hair colour’ LOL. I think that name tag idea might be a good call!

  6. XUP

    Why didn’t I know that was your husband you were with? (D?) And I totally missed the hot sauce story. Sheesh. I obviously didn’t mingle enough this time. I also want to hear more about this online veg group. And, I’m glad you enjoyed the mornnig. The food really wasn’t too bad, was it?

  7. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-Yep, he was my husband and I’m kinda glad most people missed the hot sauce incident. LOL.
    But yes, next time you have a blogger event, we’ll have to get to know each other better.:)

    As for the veggie group-Its called the “Ottawa Veg*n Meetup Group”:

    OttawaVeg.com Veg*n Meetup Group

    Ottawa, ON
    719 Veg*ns

    For more information and resources, please see http://ottawaveg.com

    Next Meetup

    Light of India Meetup

    Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014, 6:30 PM
    2 Attending

    Check out this Meetup Group →

  8. LiLu

    I’m so jealous! My canadian blogger friend came down to visit me this weekend… maybe it’s time I paid y’all a visit (you know, as soon as it warms up…)

    🙂

    How much do you love Madmen???

  9. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-It would be great if you came up to Canada to visit! Particularly if you came to Ottawa, ON because that’s obviously where all the “cool” people are! 😉
    Madmen is awesome! We left off at the point where one character (no spoilers) learns she’s pregnant and doesn’t know what to do about it and we learn about Draper’s history. Ah! Can’t wait to watch the rest!

Leave a Reply

