Great activities THIS weekend

I’ll be pretty busy this weekend. On Friday, I’m getting together with some gal pals of mine who I never see because A) We live on opposite ends of the city, B) Most of them have babies and C) Our schedules rarely match enough so we can all get together. 

earthhourlogo

On Saturday at 8:30pm sharp,  hubby and I will be participating in Earth Hour and I strongly encourage you to do the same! Together, we can break last year’s record!  If you’re not sure what to do during this hour without lights, here are some suggestions, taken from the official site and moi:
1. Attend a local Earth Hour event or organise your own by throwing an Earth Hour street party with your neighbours
2. Gather family & friends for a night picnic in your local park and look at the stars
3. Enjoy a family dinner by candlelight
4. Organise a treasure hunt in the dark
5. Take the dog for a night walk
6. Have a candle-lit bath
7. Sit in the dark and share stories
8. Organise a family night playing board games
9. Share a romantic night in with your loved one
10.Get ‘freakay’ with your partner. *cue sexy music* Bowchickabow!

Can you guess which suggestions is mine? LOL. 😉 We will also be turning off and unplugging most of our appliances since they obviously drain a lot of energy.

Lastly, on Sunday, we will be heading out to the annual “Cupcake Camp” being held, from 2-5pm at the Jack Purcell Community Center. I’ve registered as a baker, so don’t be shy to come by my area and sample some of my cupcakes.

cupcakes1

No, these aren’t mine, I just liked the picture.:) This event is a good deal, because for $5, you can eat all the cupcakes you want. Cupcakes of all flavours, colours and sizes! Yum!

Picture from-http://ediblecrafts.craftgossip.com/

8 thoughts on “Great activities THIS weekend

  1. get off my lawn

    I’ve never tried playing board games in the dark. That might be fun. Was that one yours?
    Actually I remember trying to play Risk during a powere outage. You couldn’t tell the pieces apart in candle light. A whole new element to the game.
    Do you mail cupcakes? I would order.

  2. pinklea

    I keep trying to get DD to unplug her many computer-related gadgets and chargers and things when she isn’t actually using them – but she keeps plugging them back in! I’m going to try the Earth Hour challenge thing and see if that appeals to her.

  3. hannah78 Post author

    Get off my lawn-No the board games one wasn’t mine. 😉 Mailing cupcakes? Sure, but I can’t vouch for them looking too good when they finally arrive at your place. LOL
    Pinklea-Yeah, try the Earth Hour and try to make it fun! That’s how to get most people to join things like this.:)

  4. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-Not unless you get the bar to turn off all their lights, which could make things very interesting for those who get drunk. 😉

Leave a Reply

