But I don’t wanna!

stubbornThere are three events coming up that I really don’t want to participate in but am pretty much obligated to anyway. So I figure why not bitch about them here too and annoy more people with my whining and protests. LOL.

The first event is a condo board meeting that our landlord asked me to attend. Ech! I can’t think of anything more painful then meetings, particularly ones that take place AFTER work.  But since I’m a good tenant who is afraid to piss off my landlord, I’ll go anyways. The meeting is in regards to the shoddy job the contractors who built the townhouses did on the chimneys and how much its going to cost to fix them.  Yah, there are going to be some happy-ass campers at this meeting.

The second event is a birthday party for my coworker/friend. I love this coworker and have no problem seeing her after work hours, so its not so much her I’m dreading seeing but some of the people she invited. Most of the guests are cool, but there will be a few backstabbing/insane former coworkers who I really hope I’m not seated next to at dinner.  But I’ll try to behave, because its her big 5-0, and I don’t want to spoil the mood by starting a food fight. (That’s for her next birthday!heheh)

Lastly, my husband asked me to help out with an event organized by his community group. The event involves feeding pancakes to residents in a ‘rough’ area of town. Now, I like feeding people, so that’s not the issue, neither is it the location. Its the fact we have to be there at 9:30am on a Saturday! Early! Plus, one of the directors of this group enjoys the sound of his own voice a bit too much and gives speeches that prattle on and on and on…literally until his fellow comrades pry the microphone away from him.

Boring, long winded speeches at 9:30am on a Saturday, when there is no mention of coffee or alcohol. Ugh!

Any painful stuff you will have to endure this weekend?

6 thoughts on “But I don’t wanna!

  1. hannah78 Post author

    Robin-Yah, really. I don’t mind most birthdays, but baby showers, no thanks! What with all the pastels, conversations about schools and diaper rash, nasty egg sandwiches, oooing and ahhing, etc. Yes, you will be spawning, congratufreakinglations! LOL

  2. XUP

    A) I don’t understand why you have to go to the condo meeting if you’re just a tenant. Isn’t that your landlord’s burden to bear? And why would he be pissed off if you have something better to do than attend a stupid meeting? BUT if you have to go, bring a hip flask.
    B) Part of being an adult is socializing with people you hate. Arrive late, leave early and drink just enough so that the nasty people just seem funny.
    C) Bring a hip flask and a thermos

  3. Lost Artist

    Dude, I feel ya on the early Saturday mornings! It takes an act of god to get me out of my pajamas before noon on the weekends. Yeah, it’s kinda sad, I know.

  4. pinklea

    Well, you know how I feel about meetings – I’m right behind you on that one, Hannah! But XUP’s advice is perfect for all occasions! Long live alcohol (in hip flasks as necessary)!

  5. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-I should mention that my landlord is also my father-in-law and he couldn’t make it because he was busy and lives in the other end of town.
    B)I arrived early but left early, right when the arguing was becoming louder
    C)Check and check. 😉
    Lost Artist-Not sad. We are forced to wake up early for work, so weekends should be exempt from this principle.
    Pinklea-Alcohol definitely softens the suckiness out of such “adult” obligations. 😉

Leave a Reply

