Feeling better

I started feeling better on the weekend and am now almost back to normal. Knock on wood a million times! Saturday was bee-utiful 0utside (See, XUP it turned out well afterall! O.k. well maybe not so much at night with that big storm, but hopefully most people were safe at home by then) and I took advantage, travelling to the first garage sales of the season.

new_garage_sale_left_plt20smallAhh, there’s nothing better than rummaging through people’s unwanted but sometimes still quality items. I got a shirt originally purchased in India for a buck as well as a cooking magazine. Not much, but the season is still young. Hey does anyone in Ottawa plan on going to the “Great Glebe Garage Sale“? (aka Da mother of all garage sales in Canada’s capital city) If so, let me know and we can meet up, because my husband does not like going through people’s stuff and usually stands there glancing at his watch. Saturday, we also went to the dog park near our house and met some new furry friends. I’ll post pictures later.:)

On Sunday, a friend and I went to a book consignment shop and then proceeded back to my place to swap novels and gab. We talked about a few serious topics but then proceeded on to gossip. Who did we gossip about? Basically shitty people from high school. I’m not much of a gossip fiend, but I have no problem stating my honest experiences regarding people who treated me like dirt. In other words-They’re assholes and deserve it.

So I have a question for all my ‘blogger pals’-When you were in high school, did you ever hear high school being described as ‘the best years of one’s life’ and think ‘wtf?? Hell no!’  ev_romy_070404_ssh

Because I did. When I was in my teens and speaking with an adult, some of them would get this dreamy look on their face and say :

“I remember when I was your age and in high school. *Sighs* Best years of my life.”

Yeah right. For me, high school consisted of emotional pain and an eagerness to get the hell out of there. Sure, there were good times, but there were far more times where I was a walking target for douche bags and almost went numb with sheer boredom. Many of the students were immature and unable to make their own decisions, while the teachers were stressed, underpaid and some of them, plain ol’ bastards that would cut you down if you weren’t “popular”. Ech! I had friends, but was never, ever popular.

The “popular gals” were anorexic biatches who would smoke at the back of the school in skimpy outfits and spend half the day caking on makeup. When they weren’t backstabbing and hurting people.  If that’s what it took to be popular, I’m glad I was the ‘gothy nerd’ who did things her own way and still does. 🙂

 It was fun to talk about all those dumbasses and how they still haven’t changed. Anyways, it should be mentioned that my friend who is pretty picky, liked the welsh rarebit I made us for dinner. Yay! If she eats my food, then it must mean my cooking skills are improving!:)

Picture-From the movie “Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion“.

16 thoughts on “Feeling better

  1. J.

    grade school and part of high school were the worst years of my life. Luckily college made up for it and are they best years of mylife. 😀

  2. Robin

    Yeah I would never go back to high school for any amount of money, middle school was even worse.

    We say every year we need to do a yard sale, damn it’s so much work.

  3. Miss Chris

    My high school years were definitely NOT the best years of my life. The best years were those in elementary school when a kid could stay outside all day in the summer and come home when it got dark, and not have to worry about anything. And by the way, I desperately need to have a garage sale, although I’m dreading it.

  4. hannah78 Post author

    J.-I loved grade school, but yah high school blew the big one. College was a good time for me too, stressful but infinitely more interesting.
    Robin-Me either! Middle school was the worst of the worst!
    Miss Chris-I agree, those were the days!:) We need to have a garage sale too!

  5. Marie

    Oh I hated high school. But yes I have met those people who remember it fondly. I personally couldn’t wait to get out of there!

  6. kerri

    I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    I was the weird girl in high school so, yeah, it sucked for me, too. Graduation was one of the happiest days of my life because it meant I’d never have to see any of those jerks ever again.

  7. pinklea

    I loved high school! I wasn’t popular (though at the 10-yr reunion I was shocked at how many of the guys had wanted to date me – but I only had about 3 real dates at the time!), but I was involved in lots of activities and was a good student. But the best years of my life? Don’t think so! I thought I was living them right now! 🙂

  8. XUP

    As long as you’re not bitter… I loved high school too and think of it fondly and keep in touch with a few people from way back then. I was a middle of the road person – I wasn’t in The Popular clique and I wasn’t at the bottom of the barrel either, but got along with and hung out with both on various occasions.

    Anyway, I’d love to go to the Great Glebe Garage sale. When is it? I went to the Great Canterbury garage sale on Sunday and got a brand new bread maker for $25. I’ve been meaning to buy one for years. Will I see you on Saturday? We can chat then…

  9. LiLu

    You know what wouldn’t be a horrible idea? If we did Garage Sales on our blogs… it’d be like Ebay, but with e-friends!

    God, I’m a dork.

  10. hannah78 Post author

    Marie-Glad I’m not the only one who felt that way!:)
    Kerri-Thanks and yeah grad day was a great one for me too!
    Pinklea-I’m glad that your experience was better than mine. You’re one of the lucky ones
    XUP-I’m not bitter, I’m just sharing my experience growing up as a teen. I honestly don’t think about high school all the time, just once in awhile. (Rather block out the rest of the time. LOL)
    Great! Glad you’re interested in coming!:)The Glebe Garage sale is Saturday, May 23. You can visit this site for more info:
    http://www.glebeca.ca/events/garage_sale.html

    But yeah we will probably be at the breakfast so you and I can discuss it more then.:)

  11. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-Yay! “EBay with e-friends” hehehe. Its actually a good idea. Though reading your blog, I’m scared to think what kinds of crazy stuff you’d sell and the zany stories behind them. LOL.

  12. Linda

    I don’t like shopping with my husband either. He’s very nice about it but his presence always makes me hurry and I don’t enjoy myself. I hated high school too. I was too shy and quiet to be part of much of anything.

  13. hannah78 Post author

    Linda-I know! Mine sometimes bitches, sometimes doesn’t, but just the fact that I know he hates it makes me rush too. I was shy and insecure, bad combo, but often together. Made the whole experience worse.

  14. Wandering Coyote

    First of all, I always hated the Great Glebe Garage Sale! A total zoo, a mess, garbage everywhere, and if you were trying to get downtown on the #1, it was a nightmare.

    Yes, all kinds of people told me that high school was supposed to be the best time of my life, and I always thought they were totally nuts. I HATED high school and couldn’t wait to be outta there. I still have high school dreams/nightmares. Ironically, I now live right across from the high school I attended!

  15. hannah78 Post author

    Wandering Coyote-Really? God, I love it! Sure its usually hot, crowded and parking is a bitch, but man it is a garage sale lover’s dream!:)

Leave a Reply

