The Weekend of Toilet Hugging

In case you are all wondering how I spent my weekend-I’ll sum it up for you: I was sick. The.Whole. Time!

It started off with an infection on Saturday, then a trip to the clinic where I impatiently waited for my antibiotic prescription, took the meds as soon as I got home, then said meds made me barf for two days straight!  I couldn’t even keep water down without running to the bathroom and heaving it all up. It was awful! The good news was that the infection disappeared, but that turned 0ut to be a small consolation.

On Sunday, we went to the clinic. I was so fucking sick, on the way there,  I actually made hubby pull the car over to the side of the road so I could barf on the street!  The horrible nausea followed me into the waiting room, where I waited for ten whole minutes before running into the bathroom and throwing up again, which everyone could hear clear as a bell! Lovely! Anyways, when I finally got in to see a doctor, he ordered me to get off the  ‘evil-bile inducing’ meds and wrote me a prescription for another antibiotic if the initial infection came back. (Which it hasn’t! Knock on wood!)

So it turns out not all antibiotics are created equal and some can cause serious side effects. When you’re sick, they mention these possible negative consequences in passing, but if you’re like me and have never experienced any allergic reactions to meds, then you brush it off. One doctor described patient’s tolerance to antibiotics pretty much as a “crap shoot”.

Anyways, on Monday, I was very dehydrated and exhausted, but the pill seemed to be completely out of my system and after taking some fluid retention medicine, I started feeling better. I had developed a new problem-a cold-but it was a hell of a lot better than puking!

So-I didn’t make a cake and I didn’t get a weekend. I pretty much got ripped off! The only good thing about it was that I managed to clean our toilets, because after spending so much time barfing and staring at them, I figured they were due for a scrub.

18 thoughts on “The Weekend of Toilet Hugging

  1. The Maven

    Oh, man! That really sucks. I’m so sorry you had a rotten weekend.

    In our neck the woods, Gutsy got pneumonia – again. I think this is his sixth or seventh time now. We’re so frustrated. But at least he wasn’t puking all weekend. So you win the Shitty Long Weekend Award.

    Not a great prize, is it? *hugs* Be well!

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Tired Prop-Thanks. I’m still unwell, but at least my stomach is better.:)
    The Maven-Pneumonia? Holy crap! What is up with that? I won the Shitty Long Weekend Award? Woo! That might look good on our mantle. 😉

  3. batman

    Don’t you hate when you’re hovering over the toilet and all you can think about, other than tossing your cookies, is “that toilet is DIRTY” Yuck.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  4. LiLu

    I am so sorry love! We’ve all been there.

    Now I’m going to be scared the next time I get some… I’ve never had a reaction, either, but apparently you never know! Ugh.

  5. hannah78 Post author

    Batman-Exactly! Its like “Ugh..oh man! When was the last time we cleaned these seats?” LOL
    LiLu-Thanks hun. You’ve been lucky, but you should probably buy some electrolyte (fluid retention stuff) just in case you ever get a reaction to antibiotics.
    Robin-Sorry about that. But try to think of it as ’empathy sickness’. 😉

  6. Kate

    Look at you, always finding the silver lining. 🙂 I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better and hope you are 100 percent very soon! Medication allergies suck it — I am allergic to Cipro, which I found out when I took it and, 10 minutes later, I had enormous hives all over my stomach and chest along with constricted breathing. Awesomeness.

  7. pinklea

    I had no idea that some antibiotics could cause a reaction like that! I wouldn’t even have considered throwing up all weekend a reaction to meds – I would probably just think I’d caught yet another flu bug.
    Glad it’s all cleared up though – except for the cold. But at least that doesn’t make you puke.

  8. hannah78 Post author

    Kate-Yikes! Yeah those are other types of possible side effects. Crazy that this stuff is supposed to make you feel better and only makes you feel worse!
    Pinklea-Now you know! The puking was definitely a reaction to the meds, since my stomach was fine before taking them. Yeah, I am really glad that I’m not puking anymore. Head colds are a walk in the park compared to severe nausea.

  9. hannah78 Post author

    Dr.Monkey-Yeah, you’re probably right. I’m surprised both doctors didn’t say anything about it. Maybe they didn’t me to feel too self conscious. 😉

  10. XUP

    Oh, poor you! I think you owe it to yourself to take a long weekend this week. I actually believe it’s mandatory.

  11. hannah78 Post author

    Deulich-Me too. It is no fun at all.
    Miss Chris-It is pure misery, replacing one problem with another. 🙂
    XUP-I want to! Believe me! 🙂

  12. raino

    ih my goodness! poor you…that sounds frightening. never let them give you those again!

Leave a Reply

