My first real pie crust! Woo!

There are two recipes that I consider tough to make correctly from scratch-Pie crust and cookies.  But tonight, at exactly 8:30pm, I was finally able to successfully make a pie crust from scratch that did not A)Fall apart and/or B) Make me want to say “fuck it” and run to the store to buy Pillsbury pie dough.

Woo hoo! Here is the masterpiece:

My first pie! (Cherry)

The lattice turned out a bit uneven and I had to play a bit with the edges, but who cares, it looks and tastes like a real pie! For the filling, I was lazy and used canned cherry pie filling, but I’m still waiting on the strawberries and rhubarb. Once those babies come in, it will be COMPLETELY from scratch!

Oh and to show you just how commited I am, I will also be making its accompanying ice cream from scratch! My Grandma would be proud.

10 thoughts on “My first real pie crust! Woo!

  1. Wandering Coyote

    That’s awesome! The pie looks wicked! I have a hard time with pie pastry myself – and I’m trained! So, I have a butter recipe I use that I’ve stuck with since it’s the only one I can consistently make well.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Wandering Coyote-Thanks and its good to know even trained people have problems with it. Would you be willing to post that butter recipe someday?
    Tired Prop and Robin-Thank you! 🙂

  3. get off my lawn

    The lattice has to be a little uneven, its not homemade if its not alittle uneven. It looks great and you should be proud. And endless thanks to you as this pic has inspired my wife to bake me a pie. Whoo!

  4. Hannah

    Wandering Coyote-Thank you for the links! I will give them a try!:)
    Get off my lawn-Aww thank you. I’m happy that my pic inspired your wife to make you a pie. What kind did she bake?
    Olivia-Thanks!

  5. Julia @ Mélanger

    Yum. Your pie looks great. I was toying with the idea of doing a bit of a pastry month in July. I am now inspired! I love your cherry filling. Good choice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

