Weddings!

cakestrangler

It’s Spring and lots of people are getting married. But its not even so much the season, as the time in my life (late twenties) when I’ve noticed more and more of my friends and my husband’s friends getting hitched. Which is great, but its kinda hard on the wallet. We’re going to Vancouver in the summer for a wedding, followed by another wedding in the Fall and another friend of mine who was my maid-of-honor and has since moved to England wants me to come to her wedding in January.

Tough to do when your spouse is still in school and you are in lowly admin support.  But, we’ll see how it goes.:)

Does anyone watch “Rich Bride, Poor Bride?” I don’t really watch it very often anymore, but last night they had a bride who was such a rotten, spoiled, selfish little biatch that during a temper tantrum, punched a hole in her bathroom wall with a hammer! There are a few of these babies on this show, which while it ups the sick “entertainment” factor, makes me wonder how the hell they managed to land a husband. Then again, their husbands are usually blockheads, who just nod and laugh while their monstrous fiancées aggressively dismiss their ideas and constantly repeat:  “But I’m a princess and I deserve it all!” (gag me!)

Planning a wedding can be stressful, but never did I act that way. Honestly, the only time I felt my blood pressure rise planning my wedding, was when certain, select individuals and vendors around me were acting badly. (And trust me, these kinds of events can bring out the worst in people and you really find out who your true friends are)

But, I tried to stay calm and never performed random acts of destruction. In fact, I was probably too calm and easygoing and let others do and say whatever, because I didn’t want to come off as one of these bitches.  But now I know, there is a way to be assertive without crossing the bridge into crazy town. LOL.

My wedding could have been a more elaborate affair and things did go wrong, but even though it wasn’t perfect, it was special and our venue beautiful.  And I’m grateful.

16 thoughts on “Weddings!

  1. XUP

    I think it’s so odd that with all the changes women and society in general has gone through that we still cling to the traditional wedding thing. The white dress, the cake, the flowers, the shower, the ceremony, the EXPENSE!! Ye gods. Why? Are people who have a big wedding more married than people who just have a simple commitment ceremony? Does a white dress and a wedding planner guarantee a lasting union? Does going into married life deep in debt ensure your commitment? Really, I can’t wrap my head around any of it.

  2. Kate

    You know, I have never regretted eloping for one single second. I know it didn’t make my mother especially happy, but if my husband and I had to deal with months and months of wedding-planning stress, I would have either cried myself to death or become homicidal. So, I’m thinking our marriage was like a win-win for everyone. 🙂

  3. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-Seems ironic given the advances in feminism, but people still cling to a completely unrealistic image of a “fairy tale perfect day”. (I blame Disney for this illusion! LOL) The most romantic weddings I’ve been to were low-key and minimal.
    Kate-There were times when I was planning my wedding that I really wanted to elope! LOL. But it was nice to see people at my wedding who I wouldn’t have seen otherwise. Where did you elope?

  4. Kate

    We took 2 1/2 weeks off for our wedding and honeymoon. We got married at A Little White Wedding Chapel in Vegas. Before and after Vegas we camped in and visited several national parks — Arches, Grand Canyon, Zion, Kings Canyon and Sequoia. Best trip of my life!

  5. Tracy

    lol… my wedding anniversary is this Sunday… one year!
    Sometimes I wish we’d saved the money and just run off somewhere… but people had such a great time at our reception (at the zoo at night) and I actually had fun planning and putting together all the details.

    I’m lowly admin too… but England! You should save and go!! : )

  6. hannah78 Post author

    Kate-Wow! That does sound nice. I should check the archives of your blog for the pictures.:)
    Tracy-Happy anniversary! I guess I could try and save, but the UK is so phenomenally expensive, its hard.

  7. JoLee

    I hear you on the ‘hard on the wallet part’, I’ve had 3 weddings to attend in the last 9 weeks. That’s an average of one every three weeks! When you add in the bridal shower gift and the bachelorette parties, it gets expensive.

    The only thing I really want out my wedding is my Dad to walk me down the aisle and a pretty princess dress.

  8. pinklea

    One summer years ago (I’m just a BIT older than you), my then-husband and I attended SEVEN weddings. We were at one every weekend! We finally said no when we were invited to the wedding of the daughter of a colleague – and we had never even met the girl. I shudder to think now how much money we must have spent on shower and wedding gifts, clothes ( I couldn’t be expected to wear the same dress every single time, could I?), and even gas to get to some of these venues …

  9. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-Hard to hear the truth eh? You are still the Queen of crazy stories and dance videos though. 😉
    JoLee-Holy! That’s a lot of weddings! I think your wishes for your wedding are fair, as long as you don’t let the princess dress consume your soul and start pouting and throwing fits. LOL.
    Pinklea-Seven?! That’s nuts! Yeah going to weddings definitely adds up. I still love going to them, but wish they could be a bit more affordable.

  10. Robin

    I never became a bridezilla with my wedding but I did become a basket case, which I promised myself I wouldn’t. The whole thing is just insane, I can’t beleive I went through all of that for a few hours in a day. Sigh. But it was amazing.

  11. hannah78 Post author

    Robin-Its hard not to stress a little bit, so I think all brides get unfairly stereotyped and lumped with the ‘zillas. I’m happy you enjoyed the fruits of your labor.:)
    Deutlich-Yep, it is the season. Bridezillas scare me too, but they also piss me off! Crazy bitches. LOL.

  12. tabithablogs

    I’ve never seen that show, but I’ve witnessed bits and pieces of bridezillas acting totally crazy while I’m out wedding shopping and stuff, and it just blows my mind how dramatic brides can be! As a bride-to-be, it’s made me very conscious of how I act and how I treat people who are helping me plan my wedding.

    PS – Thanks for your comment the other day! In case you didn’t see my follow-up reply, right now I’m reading The Wednesday Letters, and it…is…fabulous. I don’t know if I really have a certain taste for books. I usually go to the book store and browse around, skim things and grab whatever looks interesting. Could be a romance, sci-fi, mystery, or some motivational non-fiction or biography. Of course, this is when I actually make time to read… 😛

Leave a Reply

