Meeting the women

Last night was the aforementioned Ottawa Womens Bloggers Meetup right in the heart of the Byward Market. (Featured below)

canada-open-night-view-1752

I wasn’t sure what I would need for my trip downtown (Its been forever since I’ve been in the market), so I pretty much brought everything! LOL.  I’m one of those people who hauls their whole life in a bag. You call it paranoia, I call it being ‘prepared’.  You never know when there’s going to be a flash flood, snow storm or dessert related emergency! (I had two bottles of almond extract in my bag. Don’t ask!) Anyways, after dodging the crowds and vendors, I finally arrived at the Heart and Crown and sat down at the back of the table where the gals were sitting. I’m a very shy person, so going out to social events with complete strangers can be terrifying. Thankfully, however, everyone seemed very easygoing and friendly, so it really didn’t take long for me to feel comfortable. (Of course, the Smirnoff I drank helped too!)

Some more good news is that they were giving away prizes and I won the Laurie Kingston book: “Not Done Yet”. I met Laurie awhile ago at a bloggers breakfast and her book is very enjoyable so far. Not-Done-Yet

Thank you Sassy Monkey! My one complaint about this casual outing was the heat! The bar was so packed, it felt like a hundred degrees in there! So I ended up with these very sexy sweat stains on my shirt. 😛 I love the heat, but its so hard to know how to dress these days  since the weather keeps changing-Rain, sun, rain, sun, RAIN!- so of course I wore something too heavy and kicked myself for bringing my leather coat.  I wish summer would finally begin and we could get lots of wonderful sunny, hot days. Its been a long winter and we’ve earned it!

Byward Market Picture from-http://previews.chessdom.com/canada-chess-open-2007

10 thoughts on “Meeting the women

  1. Marie

    Sounds like you had a good time!

    I’m pretty much ready for some sunny days. All we’ve been getting is just a bunch of rain and thunderstorms. Here’s to hoping the weekend will be bursting sunshine!

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Marie-You’ve been getting rain and storms too eh? Well hopefully we get lots of sunshine for awhile!:)
    XUP- I didn’t know any of them and I mentioned the previous breakfasts. I’ll leave a comment for the next breakfast date at Three Seven’s blog.
    We talked about the Blog out Loud thing and I’m pretty sure some of them will be attending.:)

  3. Chantal

    It was nice to meet you (I was sitting on the other side of Tania). We didn’t get to chat, which is too bad. I should have mingled more. My bad.

  4. reederscorner

    That’s sounds like so much fun! I am curious to know why you carry vanilla extract in your purse though 😉

  5. Chris

    Ottawa Blogger Meet-up sounds fun… except I get the feeling that I would very out of place at the women’s one…. just a feeling 😉

  6. hannah78 Post author

    Reederscorner-LOL. The story is basically that I went to the grocery store one day with my carry bag and bought said almond extract but forgot to later take it out. Wish I had a more interesting reason, but that is it.
    f.B-I know! The sun is being very finicky this year!
    Chris-LOL. Yeah, they might think you’re trying to pick us up.;)
    Darrell-I know! I know!

Leave a Reply

