Weekend and thoughts..

spring-break-night-club

It was a decent weekend-Made pie for my dad’s birthday-key lime woo!-went to a dessert bar and then a club on Saturday night with some friends and took Monday off to garden and clean the upstairs.  The time spent hanging out with friends on Saturday was great but I came to realize two things:

-I have got to start making my own Italian sodas (SO yummy! They served them at the dessert place)

-I’m not into dance clubs as much as I used to be.

Now, let me clarify the second statement-I love my friends and love hanging out with them, but clubbin’ just ain’t as much fun for me now that I am married and livin’ in the ‘burbs.  It’s not as much fun when you’re married because most clubs are meat markets and not as fun when you live in the burbs because of the hassle of finding a way home that won’t result in being harrassed at the bus stop by drunken club goers.  (Luckily for me, my hubby drove me home). Now, don’t get me wrong, just because I’m married and like to bake and have moved away from getting pissed drunk at a club and dirty dancin’ with some schlub, that does not mean I’m completely boring and vanilla.

Quite the contrary-There’s all sorts of activities I enjoy doing. But I felt awkward and out of place at the club on Saturday. The music was the mediocre crap that kids younger than me listen to nowadays and I could just not relax and just have fun. It was kind of funny though, because at some point during the night, this j0urnalist came up to us and asked us where the best clubs in the area are and I just responded:

“Umm, I dunno, there is another one, but I rarely go to clubs so I forget the name. But people seem to like it there. Oh what’s the name..?” *ponders at the ceiling trying to recall*

So yeah, she was DEFINITELY talking to the wrong gals. Truthfully, my friends and I rarely get together to go dancing, so this was a rare occurrance. But I just don’t think I want to do it at all anymore. Hanging out at a pub chatting-Absolutely! Eating cake even though I shouldn’t-Definitely! Going miniputting/bowling/shopping/camping/watching a concert-Count me in!

Self consciously dancing at an overcrowded club while trying to avoid eye contact with people-No thanks!

Am I the only one who thinks this?

Anyway, next time we get together for silliness, I’m gonna suggest drinking and dancing at my place. And if my friend, K brings her karaoke machine, all the better! 😉

15 thoughts on “Weekend and thoughts..

  1. TheQuack

    I had the exact same thought, re: italian sodas, myself this weekend!

    Yeah, clubs are only fun when you’ve drank too much and are chasing a boy … aka, acting like you’re much younger than you actually are. I last made that mistake in March. I think I’m finished. 😛

  2. Marie

    I don’t think I’ve been to a night club in years. I never really liked them to begin with, even though I do love dancing. But just don’t like the night club scene.

    Going out for drinks with friends however, that I am definitely not sick of!

  3. hannah78 Post author

    TheQuack-Those sodas are perfect for summer! Exactly! Since I’m taken, it felt silly to be in a place where people ‘chase each other’. So many better ways to spend my time and money.:)
    Marie-I’m the same-I was never super big on clubs, but used to go anyway, because I was bored and lonely. Dancing at someone’s house or at a concert is much more fun.:) I like going out for drinks too!

  4. Kate

    I’m not sure I ever enjoyed dancing in public and I definitely don’t enjoy it now.

    BTW, your mention of mini golf makes me want to do that RIGHT NOW! Except that I’m (a) at work and (b) afraid of getting heat stroke if I’m outside for more than five minutes.

  5. XUP

    It’s been a long time since I’ve been in a club. I remember it well. I went with my room-mate. She made a bee-line for the bar, I stood in the doorway wondering what I was doing there. Some guy came dancing over and told me to “smile”. I told him to fuck off and left. Never went to a club again.

  6. reederscorner

    I still go to clubs and it’s never a good scene anymore, so I get where you’re coming from

  7. get off my lawn

    No you are not. They stopped being fun for me when I was 20. Give me a pub or a back yard any day.
    I was never good at the pick-up scene thing anyway so I usually just got really drunk and tried to find a new an innovative way to get myself thrown out.

  8. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-Exactly! Why go out when you can ‘rock out’ at home.;)
    Kate-Are there no indoor mini-putt places near you? If not, drinking lots of water and wearing sunscreen should prevent any sun related problems.
    Wandering Coyote-Clubs are overrated
    XUP-LOL! Smart woman. I remember I went to a club a year ago and some douchebag came up to me while I was waiting for my husband to finish in the bathroom. The douchebag looked at me and slurred: “Heyyyy baby!” and I gave him a very evil look, which made him swiftly run away from me.;)
    Reederscorner-They are tired and with all the summer concerts, its kind of nuts to visit them at all.
    Get off my lawn-Exactly, pub or BBQ! Why can’t more people think like that?

  9. f.B

    Yeah… I like to think I still like the vibe of a crowded bar/club. And sometimes I think I still do. But only in short bursts and only as long as “crowded” doesn’t mean “overcrowded, sloppy and insane.”

    I would much rather be at a pub, at home or at someone else’s place with friends.

  10. Robin

    I feel old and out of place at dance clubs now, which makes me sad because I used to LOVE them. I can’t help it though, it’s just not a place for me at this time. I’d love to start a club for 30+ people only, that would rock.

  11. hannah78 Post author

    f.B-I’m not sure I could even stand “short bursts” anymore. (I’m an old fuddy duddy) I agree with you though, pub, home or someone else’s place are much more comfortable.
    Robin-You should start one of those clubs! It might quickly devolve into a “cougar/perterted old man” hangout though. LOL

Leave a Reply

