Dying Young

It is unfortunate to hear about Farah Fawcett’s death and her struggle with cancer. As someone who has witnessed family members die from cancer, it touched a nerve. Farah was a bit before my time, but indeed she should have lived much longer than she did.

farra-300x400

The other big shocking death was Michael Jackson. Now, let me state first that while I may not be the biggest MJ fan and really didn’t like his last few albums, I still respected him as an icon and talented individual. It really is a shame that he didn’t get a chance to move away from the negativity that surrounded his public image and return to being looked at strictly as a great performer.  As a child of the 80s, I remember when “Thriller” came out. The song was great and the video incredibly fun. Michael Jackson brought together many different nationalities and  was stanchly devoted to combating racism and segregation, which you have to give him props for. He definitely had issues and was not impeccable, but being thrust into the limelight at such a young age and being constantly harrassed by papparazzi would cause most people severe psychological problems, why should he be different? Anyways, lets not focus on the ‘circus’ surrounding his final years and lets remember him as a great performer who sang songs like this

which has been sung by millions of people worldwide and featured in films like ‘Rush Hour’

LOL!  Anyway, RIP MJ and Farah. I hope you finally found the peace and happiness that often alluded you in your final painful years.

11 thoughts on “Dying Young

  1. get off my lawn

    When I was ten, I would have married Farrah in a heartbeat. But the six million dollar man already had his cybernetic meat hooks into her. I’ve never really gotten over it.

  2. Robin

    Very sad but for me, MJ died many many years ago. Not beacuse of his lack of music faltering but because I think he never really knew who he was.

  3. Marie

    So sad about Farah Fawcett. Cancer is a horrid sickness.

    Some of my childhood memories are linked to Michael Jackson’s music which I actually loved listening to.

    Great post lady. 🙂

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Get off my lawn-Its hard to compete with cybernetic arms and appendages. LOL.
    Robin-He really did get lost for far too long.
    Marie-He was a childhood favorite for many that is for sure.:)
    XUP-Well ‘Charlie’s Angels’ ran from 1976-81 and I was born in 1980, so yeah, it was pretty much ahead of me. 🙂

  5. hannah78 Post author

    JustJP-She was certainly liked by many lads back in the day. I think she aged very well and still looked beautiful.
    Raino-Aww, thanks!:)

  6. pinklea

    While not a huge fan of either of them, I still feel sad that Michael and Farrah are gone, and on the same day yet. They were both icons of my – ahem – younger days, and both left us too soon.

  7. Miss Chris

    Farrah brings me back to my childhood and Charlie’s Angels. Loved that show! And the video of Chris Tucker doing MJ is hilarious. One of my favorite movies.

Leave a comment