My first Zumba

Zumba

After getting home on Friday, I rushed around my house in a mad scramble to get ready for my first ever “Zumba” class. I’ve been hearing good things about the ‘Latin dance/cardio’ class so thought I would give it a whirl. One not-so-great thing about the particular class that I’m taking however, is that its at 5:30pm on a weekday!

5:30! Couldn’t they make it just a smidgen later, so us commuting suburbanites don’t have to break the speed limit in order to make it to class?

Ah! Anyways, luckily I made it-Wearing half of my work outfit paired with yoga bottoms and worn out shoes.  When other people arrived, I also became aware that I was the whitest person in the class! And I don’t mean that in a self deprecating, smart ass way-I mean literally!-everyone else was all tan and buff, while I looked like an extra from a vampire flick. I’ve also not been keeping up to date with my waxing appointments, and when we started throwing our hands up in the air, I soon realized that was also the hairest chick there too! So basically, this is what I looked like at the back of the class:

bumble_03

LOL.  My worn out shoes were also not my friend and it was difficult not to slip and fall on my ass. But despite all the fashion faux pas and being REALLY tired by the end of it, Zumba was fun! The instructor was hilarious too, wiggling his faa-bulous little Cuban butt and making jokes.  You could tell all the ladies in the class really loved him. 

So, if you’re  somewhat coordinated and looking for a good way to work up a sweat and don’t mind cheesy Ricky Martin music, Zumba just might be for you!

12 thoughts on “My first Zumba

  1. XUP

    Cha-cha! I’ve been doing zumba for a while and agree totally. It’s so much more fun than dragging yourself up and down a stupid step or grape-vining your way around a gym. And don’t you work up an awesome sweat??

  2. Robin

    I keep looking for a dance workout video I’ll like. I kind of want something with hiphop/sexy/kick boxing, I wonder if that exists.

  3. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-Absolutely! The gym is so damn smelly and boring and full of weird, narcissistic alpha males. Zumba is much more loose and fun!
    Robin-There’s about a zillion exercise videos out there, so you should be able to find something like that or close enough to it.:)

  4. quackattack

    OMG, that abominable snowman pic and your words made me LOL – literally! Good for you for trying something new!

  5. hannah78 Post author

    Lost Artist-Thanks! I have my moments. 😉
    f.B-The bumble is supposed to look scary, but I think he looks like a teddy bear.
    Quackattack-Thanks! I’m trying to be more openminded and try new things.:)
    Get off my lawn-Hmm..I never thought of that. Perhaps I should keep my current look and call it “hairy monster chic.” 😉

  6. kitkat

    I love the visual of your hairiness. My armpits always look hairy even when they’re smooth because my hair shows through underneath my pale skin. Is that TMI?

    I’m so glad Zumba was fun! I’d like to try it sometime, but I first have to discover the free gym on base and see what the class schedule is. And why is it that the evening classes are never offered at a good time? The classes I take always tend to be too early or too late.

  7. hannah78 Post author

    Kitkat-LOL. Thank you. No not too much info, body hair can be a real pain for some people. As for the classes being at a bad time-yeah its really annoying! And why are there so many adult classes at 7-9am on a weekday? People who haven’t retired yet would like the opportunity to take these classes too!

Leave a Reply

