The Wedding and Leaving for the Island

We spent Friday night apart-Hubby was at the groom’s bachelor party, while I was invited to get my nails done with the bride and her bridesmaids.  On Saturday morning, I got my hair done and split a taxi with some Aussie friends of the groom’s who were staying at the same hotel as us. We were all dolled up and on our way to the wedding, which was held at Simon Fraser University. Our cab driver was a charismatic fellow who handed me his card and told me he ran a “talk show” ala Frasier out of his cab. He primarily helped couples with relationship issues.  He said he’s “seen it all” in all his years of driving and has met lots of couples. Most cabbies I know just drive, they don’t moonlight as a therapist, but whatever. Anyway, the wedding was beautiful and while I can’t share pictures of the bride or groom with you guys, but here is a picture of the view from the back porch:

View from Fraser University

We were both exhausted as the night wore on and I called the same cab driver to take us home. Unfortunately some very rude woman picked up and gave me another number to call, which I phoned but she picked up again and gave me another number, thus giving me the runaround.  So, cab driver/talk show host-Please don’t give people a card and tell them to call later that night unless you actually plan on picking them up. That or fire your receptionist.

Luckily, however, a couple gave us a ride back to our hotel room and they spent most of the ride arguing. Ahh, marriage! This what our newlyweds get to look forward to: Someone to argue with and annoy for the rest of your life! LOL. I kid, marriage is great! Hubby-There is no one else I love to bug more than you! *kiss* 😉

The next day, we ate one more delicious breakfast at White Spot and bid our hotel adieu to depart for Victoria. That day was stressful and hot, but when we arrived at our B&B, we were warmly welcomed by the lovely Austrian woman who ran the place. We were also a bit relieved to be out of the hussle and bussle of Vancouver and into a smaller town that was distinctly Victorian and very charming.

Victoria harbourHere is a shot of Victoria’s Legislature building. Beautiful!

Victoria Legislature

And here is a nod to B.C’s many Aboriginal tribes with some totems:

Victoria-Totems

It was time for some relaxing and indulging exclusively on what we wanted to do. Which turned out to be visiting gardens and bug zoos, whale watching, shopping and one other exciting activity that scared hubby half to death! Stay tuned for more posts on our adventure in B.C!

9 thoughts on “The Wedding and Leaving for the Island

  1. hannah78 Post author

    Kate-Interesting link! Thanks for sharing. I didn’t know Philip Glass drove a cab once upon a time. He is one of my favorite composers. 🙂

  2. Jocelyn

    I have often played a little game with myself, especially when trapped with a bickering couple, called “Would You Want to Be In That Marriage?”

    Astoundingly often, the answer is no.

  3. Marie

    Whale watching? That has to be pretty awesome!

    Can’t believe the cab driver moonlights(?) as a cabby therapist too. I guess there’s all sorts of people in this world, huh?

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Jocelyn-LOL. Yeah they definitely sounded like they had some issues, but maybe we just caught them on a bad night.
    Marie-Yep, it takes all kinds. I hope his advice is better than the way he runs his taxi though.
    Ctug00-Probably, but sheesh, you think they would have better communication. Victoria is gorgeous!

  5. LiLu

    Whale watching rocks! Especially when you’re 13 and on a boat with 300 peers (aka Every Field Trip You Ever Take When You Grow Up in Massachusetts). 🙂

Leave a Reply

