Cool Things of Note in Victoria, BC

August 4-7, 2009

We packed a lot of activities for our last week in B.C. But first, I’m going to mention some of the things we saw and experienced during our last week that were completely random and unexpected. During my last post, I forgot to mention the amazing restaurant we visited after whale watching. It’s called “The Pink Bicycle” and their veggie burgers are the best I have ever eaten! (Better than White Spot or The Works) They have three different kinds-three!-and we sampled the black bean and portabella burgers. SO freakin’ good!:

Pink Bicyle restaurant-Food

The fries and sauce were delicious too and they had some cool wall art:

Pink Bicycle restaurant

If you’re ever in Victoria, go to this restaurant. You won’t regret it! After eating, we also shopped around a bit and I spotted some interesting stuff along the way and of course snapped photos.

Victoria-Lingerie store

We also saw this lingerie/sex shop. Do you remember Rainbow Brite?Well now you can dress up like her AND turn on your signficant other! Woo! Who doesn’t find 80s toons or programming “sexy” honestly? (Note-I didn’t find any Teddy Ruxpin or Polkaroo costumes. Shucks! LOL)

We also spotted this guy on the boardwalk. Hubby dropped some change into his pot and he changed his pose to say thanks!

Victoria-Harbour tourist area

On our way home, Β we also saw this sign and I loved it!

Victoria-Attack penguin sign

It says “Beware of Attack Penguin” and I must have them-The penguin and the sign! LOL. After touristing around all day, we also drank bubble tea from the best place there-Panacea.

Victoria-Bubble tea

Vancouver and Victoria have a very large Asian population and that equals lots of bubble tea, sushi and Chinese restaurants. Which is awesome! At Panacea, they mix up different flavours, creating some tasty combinations. I thought you needed “special” equipment to make the stuff, but all you really need is a blender and tapioca pearls. (Plus, some other commonly found ingredients) Since I love the stuff WAY too much, I’ve decided to try and make my own at some point.

Well that’s it for this post, I’ll leave you with one more picture that I took of the moon from our B&B balcony. We got upgraded at no extra cost for the nice room and I could have spent all night on that balcony meditating and looking at stars.

B&B-Night

Just one more post and that will be it for our trip in B.C.! πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “Cool Things of Note in Victoria, BC

  1. hannah78 Post author

    Wandering Coyote-LOL! What sort of costumes did they have then? And its actually both-sex shop and lingerie store.:)
    Chris-Me too! Attack penguins would be the perfect deterrent for burglers, door-to-door salesmen and Johovah Witnesses! πŸ˜‰
    Dr.Monkey-You should. Who knows when they will attack next? lol
    Miss Chris-Not me! She’s right up there wedged in the oversized sentimental part of my brain that remembers being 5-years-old and watching her every Saturday. πŸ™‚

  2. XUP

    What IS the deal with bubble tea? When it first came around years and years ago, a few people tried it and then the whole concept sort of faded away for a while. Now it’s in full revival. I guess I’ll have to try it. Any place special in Ottawa you’d recommend or are they all pretty much the same?

  3. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-I tried bubble tea in my senior year of high school when I was visiting Toronto and have loved it ever since! Its definitely a gimmick but its a tasty one, so I don’t mind. πŸ™‚ There aren’t a lot of bubble tea places in Ottawa and most are clustered in China Town and are the same in terms of flavours. “Bubblicity” is not a bad place though the waitresses can be bitchy. Let me know how you like it!

  4. get off my lawn

    Hey! I’ve been out of touch and you decide to make a visit? Damn! If its not to late, go on an inner harbour tour. Water tax. Fisherman’s wharf. You’ll love it. Also, go to Zydeco on Johnson. Sorry my family and I didn’t have our act together to show you around.
    Have a lovely time.

  5. hannah78 Post author

    Get off my lawn-Unfortunately, we are back in Ottawa, but I’ll keep those ideas in mind for our next visit. I would have liked to have met you and your family, but I figured you were busy. Hopefully, next time we’re in your province, we can meet. πŸ™‚
    Robin-They were SO good! I’m salivating just thinking about them! πŸ™‚

  6. Wandering Coyote

    It was more of a sex shop back in my day, though there were a lot of the typical S&M costumes. Not much lingerie from what I can remember. It was quite a shocking place for me! Very educational!

  7. hannah78 Post author

    Wandering Coyote-LOL. Sounds like it was very educational. πŸ™‚
    Wendi-Thanks and you should go! I hear the penguins only attack if you look them in the eye! πŸ˜‰

  8. Kate

    The Rainbow Brite costume is disturbing enough … I’m not sure how I would have reacted had I learned they’d made Teddy Ruxpin sexual! Thank goodness someone had brains enough to stay away from that one. πŸ™‚

  9. hannah78 Post author

    Kate-LOL. You don’t find anthropomorphic bears who travel in giant hot air balloons sexy? C’mon! πŸ˜‰
    JustJP-Its worth it to save the money and go! Trust me!:)
    Bevchen-Bubble tea consists of black or green tea and fruit juice mixed up with tapioca pears at the bottom. It can also contain real milk or non-dairy substitute, as well as coconut or lychee slices instead of tapioca. It originated in Taiwan and spread to other Asian countries and North America. Pink Bicyle food was delicious, if only they had locations in Ottawa. Sigh!

  10. hannah78 Post author

    Native Winnow-I liked Vancouver quite a bit too! Its a bit too big for me to live in permanently, but it is very cool to visit. πŸ™‚

  11. Native Minnow

    I was only there for a day and a half, so didn’t get much of a chance to take it all in. I did visit the swinging bridge which was cool. Downtown was nice, and you couldn’t ask for a better setting for a university. I camped out east of Vancouver at Alouette Lake too, which was just gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

