“Miracle Cure”

efin362l

I haven’t been sleeping well this week.  When seasons (or my hormones) change, the amount of sleep I get drops signficantly. My sleep deprivation makes going to work sheer torture, causes me to forget what I did five minutes ago as well as makes me…just a wee bit cranky. Last night I saw an ad for a sleep aid heavily advertised on TV called “Ambien CR” and thought it might help. According to the makers of this wonder drug, Ambien Cr is a “2-layer, controlled-release prescription sleep medication that helps you fall asleep fast and stay asleep.* So you wake up less frequently and fall back to sleep faster.”

But there are just a few ‘minor’, pesky side effects such as:

-Headaches

-Somnolence (drowsiness)

-Dizziness

-Feel Hungover

-Memory loss

-Tolerance and dependence (duh! I bet their banking on these!)

-Withdrawal (Symptoms can include abdominal and muscle cramps, vomiting, sweating, shakiness, and occasionally, seizures.)

-Sleepwalking, eating and/or driving while not awake

-Diarrhea

You might even start acting different and become aggressive, experience confusion, hallucinate (!), become (more) depressed and consider commiting suicide.

Also-“Allergic reactions such as shortness of breath, swelling of your tongue or throat, may occur and in rare cases may be fatal”.

So basically-Ambien is great at possibly putting you to sleep permanently!  I know they have to list all possible side effects to deter getting sued, but cripes!

Y’know what? Screw it! I think I’ll just try and ride out my sleeplessness. Better to be tired and sluggish than hallucinating, driving my car while asleep and/or possibly swallowing my own tongue!

13 thoughts on ““Miracle Cure”

  1. hannah78 Post author

    JustJP-Honestly, I don’t know. They say that the desired effects are good, but drugs are a bit of a crap shoot. There’s no telling how one’s body will react. I just think there’s too many drugs out there being heavily advertised.

  2. quackattack

    When I’m at my most sleep deprived Gravol always seems to do the trick … I’ll be eating a box of that this flight home as last time I went on a 72 hour insomniac adventure that resulted in my leaving my birthday party early and crying in front of my mother. Sleep is important.

  3. Mireille

    I drink Valerian tea to get a good night’s sleep with no side effects. It smells awful and doesn’t taste any better but, heck, it works.

  4. pinklea

    It’s awful when you can’t sleep. I have periodic bouts of insomnia too: I’ll fall asleep just fine, then be wide awake at 3 or 4 am, then start to drift off again about 6:30 am, right when I should be getting up. And yes, Gravol! I’d forgotten about it too! I must get some to help me through my sleepless patches. (Thanks, Quack Attack!)

  5. Wandering Coyote

    OK, don’t panic! I take a drug very similar to this, and I can tell you, trying it out is definitely worth it.

    Don’t be intimidated by the side effect profile – they have to list all of that stuff for liability purposes, as you note, but I can tell you that how you react to ANY medication is very, very individual. You may not experience ANY of these side effects at all, but you need to be informed just in case.

    Ambien is pretty mild compared to some stuff that is out there – trust me.

    Have you tried an anti-histamine, like Benadryl? That is non-habit forming and tends to work well. Ask your pharmacist about this because it comes in other forms that might be cheaper than this name brand.

    Herbally, have you tried Valerian? You can get it in pill form. Also, try finding some Melatonin; it’s an amino acid naturally found in your body, but it aids with sleep, and is available in pill form, too. If you need to go to a doctor but don’t want a medication, you can ask for a prescription for L-Tryptophan; this is also an amino acid & it aids with sleep (found in turkey & milk).

    Sleep deprivation sucks big time, and it starts to affect everything. Getting a modicum of control over it can really be worth it.

  6. Native Minnow

    I recently got a prescription for Ambien. I only take it when absolutely necessary though. And by that I mean when I’m going on my fourth or fifth day of insomnia.

  7. hannah78 Post author

    Wandering Coyote-I guess it works well for some people, but for me, it Ambien might be too strong. Melatonin seems to be a big suggestion, I’ll have to look into it along with tryptophan. Thanks for all the info, it sounds like we have similar problems with sleep.:)
    Native Minnow-Yeah, its probably best not to take it too often since you risk dependence and tolerance. Does Ambien give you any of the mentioned side effects? How drowsy does it make you feel the next day?

  8. Darrell

    I don’t have trouble staying asleep once I’ve gotten to sleep, but I do have trouble getting to sleep in the first place.

    Posted at 2:30 am

Leave a Reply

