RIP Katy

My parents dog-Katy-has been having some health problems lately. But after a week of house and dog sitting, my parents told me that the vet might be able to help her recent paralysis. Unfortunately, however, we soon learned she had cancer on her spine and the most humane thing my parents could do was euthanize her. So she slowly drifted away from us and is hopefully frolicking and howling and barking up a storm in a better place where people and animals no longer suffer from such horrible diseases. 

Katy

I’ve been trying to comfort and support my mom since Friday as well as go through my own grieving. I remember when I was still living with my parents seven years ago and we went to the breeder to pick her and her brother up. They were so adorable and while her brother (Spencer) remained more of a “challenge” in the attitude (and excessive drooling!) department, Katy was sweet, loyal and always up for a belly rub.

Katy2

RIP Katy-We’ll miss you!

15 thoughts on “RIP Katy

  1. quackattack

    I’m sorry to hear about your doggy-loss. The really do become family members and it’s never easy to say goodbye. Hugs.

  2. Julia @ Mélanger

    Even I don’t know your mom, but give her a hug from me. Losing a pup is just so hard. Katy looked like an adorable, sweet family member. I’m sure she’s happy to be out of pain now though and enjoying puppy world with lots of treats and walks.

  3. Kris

    Your Katy looks my childhood dog, she was a basset…

    It’s waaay too hard to let these sweet souls go…

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Quackattack-You’re so right. It never is easy to say goodbye. Thank you for your support. *hugs back*
    Wandering Coyote-Thank you so much.:)
    Julia-Katy was HUGE on treats as well as chasing squirrels (like most dogs), so I’d like to think that ‘puppy heaven’ has an abundance of the little buggers. 🙂
    LiLu-I hope so!
    Blueberry-I’ve got experience losing people and animals to various cancers so yeah, I definitely agree that cancer=evil.
    Kris-Bassets are great dogs, but it is sad that they often don’t live as long as they should.

  5. B

    It’s so hard to lose a pet, especially one that you’ve had for so long. Just remember your family did the right thing! *hugs*

  6. hannah78 Post author

    B-Euthanization is often the most humane choice. She only had a few months at most to live anyways, so it didn’t make sense to make those months hellish. Thanks for your support *hugs B back* 🙂
    Robin-Thanks sweetie! That means a lot!

Leave a Reply

