Sunday and Labour Day Monday

Losing Katy did put a damper on the long weekend-But I was still determined to try and unwind as much as possible.  So we went to the Perth Fair.

Perth Fair-ViewThe Perth Fair is a fairly small sized affair with local mercants, animals, craptastic Midway rides and rigged games. On our way in, we saw some cows for slaughter..I mean..sale.

Perth Fair-Cows-Sep.09We also saw some other very cute barnyard animals like ducks and bunnies:

Perth Fair-Duck-Sep.09

Perth Fair-White bunny-Sep.09and llamas.

Perth Fair-Llama-Sep.09          Llama: “Hey, don’t take my picture!”

True to rural fairs, there were also some quilts for sale (I like the one in the middle)

Perth Fair-Quilts-Sep.09

..and giant produce with prizes awarded out annually. Hubby pointed out that Zoom should have entered the contest for largest, mutant zucchinis. Ah well, maybe next year.

Perth Fair-Big Zucchini-Sep.09

Perth Fair-Big pumpkin-Sep.09I particularly liked the giant pumpkin that looked like a giant ass.  How heavy do you think it is?

Perth Fair-Big Cheese-Sep.09The people of Lanark are particularly proud of their enormous cheese (Psst! This one is actually filled with sand)

Perth Fair-Midway ride-Sep.09

I insisted we also go on one of the rides and picked the one that might as well be called “back breaker”, as it roughly spins you around frontwards and then backwards to cheesy dance music and a carny who keeps yelling out “Everybody scream!”.  Yep, definitely not going on one of those rides again!

On our way out, we bought some cotton candy and I spotted my next car picture with a weird licence plate.

Pockets

What does this person mean by ‘Pockets’? Do they mean they’re really wealthy? Are they some kind of master thief? Its really not as straightforward as the ‘Cougar’ licence plate I spotted once. (Sadly, I didn’t have my camera with me at the time)

Monday was great-I just lazed around in my pjs, cleaned up the house a bit and made cupcakes from the leftover chocolate batter I had.

Chocolate and low fat rasp icing

I ran out of cake decorating supplies, so the icing doesn’t look as pretty. Plus, I reduced the amount of butter, so its not as stiff. Here is the recipe and directions:

Raspberry icing

-1/2 cup butter

-1 cup icing sugar

-1 tsp raspberry flavoured liqueur

-1 tbsp milk

-Defrosted frozen raspberries-As many as you wish

Using an electric beater, whip butter until smooth, add milk and sugar. Next add raspberries and liquer. If you want it thicker, add more icing sugar. If you want it thinner (and don’t want to wait until 5pm to start drinking) add more liquer or you can add corn syrup.

11 thoughts on “Sunday and Labour Day Monday

  1. hannah78 Post author

    Kate-LOL. Happy to help!
    Hella Stella-Hahah..that video is so cute! Its like a G-rated version of the Sir-Mix-Alot song !
    f.B-Its probably around 150, but I have no idea. I’m not good at guessing weight. Its also an ass that’s well decorated, since everybody wrote all over it.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Native Minnow-LOL. Yeah, it was the boondocks, so some people probably do eat ducks, bunnies and llamas!
    Ashley-Yeah, try the recipe and tell me what you think! 🙂

  3. kitkat

    I just had to mention that I love the butt-pumpkin. I thought it look like a butt when I first saw it too. That’s probably why it won.

Leave a Reply

