Wedding Weekend

We had another wedding weekend. On Friday, we drove to Carp for the rehearsal dinner.

Drive to Carp-Sep.18.09

The gathering was held at the groom’s parents place. His parents get to travel all over the world as part of their job, so it was neat to look at some of their finds. Like this horse…

Jim's rehearsal dinner-Horseand painting..

Jim's rehearsal-Painting

I didn’t know a lot of people there so I felt a bit awkward, but dinner was good. (Except for some spanakopita that had sand in it. Yes, sand. It.was.disgusting!)

Jim's wedding-Clare signing registryThe next day, I got my hair done and zipped on over to the Gallery. The ceremony itself was short and sweet. The bride wore practically the same dress and hairstyle (with the bun and large flower on the side) as the other bride who we saw in Vancouver over the summer. But she looked beautiful. While I was snapping pictures, I also noticed one of the bridesmaids had a neat tattoo, so I took a photo of it as well.

Jim's wedding-TattooThis is the area of the gallery where they hold wedding ceremonies. Its got a fantastic view of Parliament Hill and the Rideau Canal.

Jim's wedding-Nat.Gallery ceremony

But you can also step outside on the balcony to take a better picture of the view.

Parliament Hill

Dinner was good and followed by cupcakes.

CupcakesThey also had poutine laid out later on in the night. (At which point I felt like blowing up). Poutine is not a ‘Canadian tradition’ at weddings or anything, but I think the couple wanted the out of towners to try it.

Jim's wedding-Poutine

The speeches were “interesting”. Many people were completely sloshed by then and the microphone became a hot commodity. In fact, just as the bride and groom stood up to make their speech, some bald guy grabbed the mic and said: “I know that you guys want to say something. But I wanna say something first…okaaay….”

I dubbed him the “Kanye of Weddings” and wondered exactly how much he spent at the cash bar before eating dinner. LOL. Anyways, it was one of the less painful weddings I’ve been to, everything moved along pretty quickly and smoothly and you didn’t have to practically die of hunger before you got some food.   Now we’ve just got one more wedding to go next month in Toronto.  I hope the weather is as nice.

20 thoughts on “Wedding Weekend

  1. Kate

    I’d never heard of poutine before so I looked it up on Wikipedia. Quite honestly, I’m surprised the dish hasn’t made it to Wisconsin yet — it seems like just the thing people there would love, given their fondness for all things involving potatoes, gravy and cheese curds.

  2. XUP

    A cash bar at a wedding? I’ve never been to a wedding with a cash bar. I’ve heard of people doing this, but always thought that if you’ve invited people to get all dressed up, bring gifts and drive somewhere to share a very special day with you, you could at least stand them a few drinks.

  3. hannah78 Post author

    Robin-It is, you should go and visit sometime if you’re ever in Canada.:)
    LiLu-LOL. I love Tim, he is so funny. “de-signers!”
    Kate-Well Americans have something similar-chili cheese fries-which also makes my heart hurt just thinking about it. LOL. If you’re ever up north, you should give poutine a try!
    XUP-Weddings are extremely expensive! Sure guests buy you gifts, but you’re throwing them a huge party with food and wine. Personally, I think its unfair to expect the couple to pay for people to get drunk after they’ve already spent their life savings on their “day.”

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Lacochran and Titania-Yeah, basically it was dirt which I’m assuming came from not washing the spinach in the spanakopita properly. (Or it fell on the ground at some point) BLECH!
    Titania-Those cupcakes were great!

  5. Marie

    I’d love to have bite out of those cupcakes. Yum! I’ve also been dying to try poutine because every Canadian blogger I read mentions it at some point. I’ll make sure to try some if I ever make it all the way north to you Canadians.

  6. XUP

    Well, what if they didn’t spend their life savings on stuff like the dress and flowers and sandy spanokopita and just paid for a grand old booze-up instead? That would be fun. Woo-hoo!!

  7. hannah78 Post author

    Marie-If you ever make it up north, can you visit Ottawa? I could show you some great poutine places:)
    XUP-LOL! A grand old booze-up would definitely up the entertainment value of the wedding! And just think instead of fruit cake as a favor, they could have given us little bottles of liquor as mementos. 😉

  8. Lost Artist

    Yeah, I am adamantly against cash bar weddings. I’m of the opinion that free booze is what I get in exchnage for sitting through the ceremony and buying the couple a gift. I mean really, it’s only fair. And your pics are awesome! Cupcakes!

  9. pinklea

    This is certainly your year of weddings, isn’t it? Well, I guess it gives you something to do on the weekend! And yes, sometimes the speeches leave a lot to be desired at at wedding – especially if there’s liquor involved. I’ve been to a few receptions like that too.

  10. hannah78 Post author

    f.B-I would have liked to have taken pictures of some of the paintings and sculptures held at the gallery but of course the main sections were closed off. But yes, we still got awesome views of downtown. 🙂
    Lost Artist-Well I got married last year and let me tell you it was CRAZY pricey! So unless the couple are millionaires then I think its only right for people to buy their own booze. Sitting through a ceremony and buying a wedding gift are no comparison to all the preparation and cash that the couple spent to put on a nice wedding. 🙂
    Thank you for the compliments on the pictures and hmmm, cupcakes! That is something you and I definitely agree on! 🙂
    Pinklea-Yeah, it has definitely been the year of weddings for us. We’re at the age where all are friends are either getting married and/or having kids. What was the roudiest reception you’ve been to?

  11. hannah78 Post author

    Wandering Coyote-Yep sand in the spana is not tasty. (then again sand in anything kinda ruins the taste for me. LOL) O-town is very beautiful in the Fall.:)
    Meanie-Yep. There were actually a few “Kanyes” there. Being drunk and rude, but at least they livened things up a bit. 😉

Leave a Reply

