I Heart Canadian Music

maple_leaf_spamily

I’ve been listening to a lot of Canadian music lately. And no, I’m not listening to Céline Dion or Nickelcrap or any other clichéd garbage that they overplay on the radio.  I’ve been getting into the more genuine and talented artists that we have up here in the Great White North.

Those who I adore range from older artists like Joni Mitchell, Bruce Cockburn and Gordon Lightfoot:

…to more well-known artists like Hawksley Workman (Who is my current obsession)

..and Sloan, The Tragically Hip, Matt Good, Sarah McLaughlan, Mylène Farmer, Sam Roberts, Sarah Harmer.

As well as groups whose music I’m just discovering like Karkwa (Nat posted about this guy on her blog. Thanks Nat!) , Patrick Bruel, Claude Dubois, USS, Bran Van 3000 and Danko Jones. (I particularly like this song and video of theirs)

Do you have any favorite Canadian bands?

23 thoughts on “I Heart Canadian Music

  1. quackattack

    Metric (and Emily Haines’ solo stuff), Arcade Fire, old Barenaked Ladies, Blue Rodeo, Leonard Cohen, The Hip, Rufus Wainwright, Serena Ryder … to name a few.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    Quackattack-Oh yes! I do like the Arcade Fire and Leonard Cohen too! Good stuff!
    Mireille-I haven’t heard too much from Pilot Speed. I should check them out!

  3. meanie

    54-40. saw them YEARS ago at Barrymore’s. One of the best live shows i have ever been to. and neil young. i just love neil young. danko jones is great (have you seen a live show? so great).
    i have never heard of serena ryder, am going to check her stuff out today.

  4. hannah78 Post author

    J.-Ah yes, the band from Antigonish! They are fun too!
    f.B-I updated the post to include a link to a great Karkwa song. Just click on the word Karkwa.:)
    Kim-Yeah, I’ve loved Sarah Harmer for awhile now. She’s a great singer! Matt Good is another good one. His songs “feel” fundamentally Canadian. I wonder if Leonard will come to Ottawa soon?
    XUP-Oops! Sorry Ms. Karp! I’m going to one of her shows on October 29. Are you going?
    Meanie-Oh yeah 54-40! They are awesome! Another good band that was really popular in the 90s are The Odds. I haven’t listened to much Serena Ryder either..should give her a spin.

  5. Robin

    The only one I can think of, and I’m sure you’ll laugh at me or be horrified, but Barenaked Ladies. I still love them. Seen them in concert several times and they are one of the best live shows I’ve ever seen.

  6. hannah78 Post author

    Robin-I actually like the Barenaked Ladies. Its funny, I remember how huge they were here in Canada (before they got big in the States) when I was in junior high school. I was too young to go to concerts then, but I remember an older girl saying that they put on great shows.:)

  7. Nat

    Do you really want a list?
    Might I suggest CBC Radio 3’s podcast …all Canadian all the time (and really some wonderful stuff.)

    Wintersleep (Welcome to the Night Sky) is brilliant and I love this man’s voice. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40aHqhd8xPY (this is my favourite track from the album but it’s brilliant.)

    Great Lake Swimmers, Ongiara and Lost Channels — freaking brilliant….

    Quickly others I didn’t see mentionned here:
    Hey Rosetta, Tricot Machine (quarky French), the Weakerthans, and Christine Fellows. To name just a few.

  8. hannah78 Post author

    Wandering Coyote-I was a big Loreena fan in high school. She has an amazing voice!
    Nat-Wow! You are a regular fountain of information on Canadian music! I will definitely listen to the podcast and check out those bands you suggested. Thanks! 🙂

  9. Artman2112

    Rush Rush and Rush, they’re the greatest band ever! I’ve been a die hard fan since 1980!
    i was just listening to Snakes and Arrows in the car today 😉

  10. Artman2112

    no i never even heard of it, but i’ll look it up and see if it sounds like something i’d like 😉

Leave a Reply

