Classes, sad doggies and more zany bus drivers

Education Concept

This Fall I’ve been keeping busy with extra-curricular classes. Last night after running home from work and shoveling food in my mouth, I hightailed it to my second French class.  Everyone in class was really chatty, well except me, I’m more the sink-into-my chair-and quietly-try-to-cram-verbs-into my brain-type. Despite living in a city with many Francophones and being exposed to it for a long time, I’m shy to speak French.  Perhaps, because I’m scared to make mistakes and look foolish. After class, the gregarious, Haitian instructor looked at me and said: “You should be confident! But don’t worry, we’ll practice a lot. You and me.”

Admittedly, her faith and patience me made me feel a bit better. After class, I dropped by my parents place. My mom had gallbladder surgery recently, but she looked really good and the bruising from the incisions was very minimal. Spencer, their now sole basset hound, was his usual affectionate self, possibly more so now with his sister, Katy gone. He kept looking at me with these sad glassy eyes, that seemed to indicate his feelings of loss. It kinda looked like this:

sad-sad-basset-hound

Anyone who tells you that animals aren’t capable of emotions and feeling grief are full of shit. He was one sad, lost puppy.

On another note, I had the singing bus driver this morning.  (Click on link to hear him sing) This guy is fairly well known among Ottawans as the driver who sings really loudly, for no apparent reason other than the fact that OC is probably too cheap to buy him a radio. He’s got a great set of pipes and I admire his guts to sing to a group of sleepy commuters, but today, I just wanted to listen to zone out and listen to ‘Swordfish Trombone’ on my i-pod while staring at the fog outside. It’s nice however, to see someone trying to stay happy in their job.

This weekend, my plans involve hopefully buying more sweaters (to replace my overworn ones with holes in them) and looking for a new lamp for my art room. I’m going to try and get some yoga practice in there as well, since its been awhile. I might even make some Fall treats.

Have a good weekend!

12 thoughts on “Classes, sad doggies and more zany bus drivers

  1. XUP

    I’ve had the singing bus driver a couple of times. I know he pisses a lot of people off for some reason. And, absolutely animals feel emotions. My poor kitty is so damn sad with his head cone these days. I can’t stand it. I’m wracking my brain for something that will protect his paws that will mean he can get rid of the cone. It’s so cruel.

  2. quackattack

    I’m too shy to speak en français, aussi. Is it an Ottawaan thing? I need to get over that, too …

    Poor Spencer 😦

    Thanks for writing about how “It’s nice however, to see someone trying to stay happy in their job” … gave me a welcomed lift this morning 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  3. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-In terms of bus noise, I would rather listen to him then the crap blasting out of some kids headphones or a lady behind me discussing a ‘rash that won’t go away’. LOL.
    Awww..poor kitty, I wouldn’t want to wear a cone either. But hopefully he’ll be able to take it off soon.
    Robin-I wonder if he takes requests. (It would work with Tom Waits’ “Goin’ out West’ since the bus was going west. 😉 )
    Quackattack-Well, I think its normal for many people to be shy in their second or third language. But its weird in Ottawa, because as soon as you start speaking French to certain Francophones, they laugh and respond in English, which is rude and makes one feel self conscious. (This phenomenon is particularly infuriating in the age of complaining about lack of bilingualism)

    Anyways, you have a great weekend too!

  4. Chris

    Haven’t had a singing bus driver since I lived in Montreal, but I will be on the lookout.

    And yes, animals do have emotions. They’re just better at controlling them… unlike humans.

  5. f.B

    Animals and pets absolutely feel and show emotions. Sometimes you have to pay attention, I guess. But actually, it’s pretty obvious most of the time because they don’t learn the horrible things we do about sadness… like the idea that we should be ashamed of it or something. Pets just put it all right out there.

    But the singing bus driver story is heart-warming. Happiness at work is so important.

  6. lacochran

    Of course animals experience emotions.

    And we have a cafeteria worker who sings at the cash register. She has a lovely voice but a face and body that isn’t American Idol material. It’s nice to hear her.

  7. pinklea

    It’s pretty normal to be reluctant to speak a second language, says the French immersion teacher (me). Think about how you learned your first one: you listened for a long time, started to understand more and more, then you spoke in short words and phrases with many charming mispronunciations and grammar errors that people sometimes corrected, and you kept trying because you were getting such marvelous attention and feedback, and then little by little, you were speaking beautifully! That takes a long time – at least 5 or 6 years. Of course, we adults want to do it all right now and we hate making mistakes and being corrected when we’re learning. But try not to be too hard on yourself – you’ll get there if you persevere!
    *climbs off soapbox apologetically*

  8. meanie

    let me know where you find good sweaters. i need some,
    oh, and i just love the singing bus driver. i’d love to have the cahones to do that.

  9. hannah78 Post author

    Chris-So there’s more than one singing driver? Perhaps there is an accapelo group of drivers that gets together once in awhile. LOL
    Lacochran-Hey you never know! Susan Boyle made it and she..doesn’t exactly look like Britney Spears.
    Pinklea-Thank you for your sage advice. I am trying to not be too hard on myself and persevere. ( Which can be difficult when you’re trying to understand subjonctif, but I digress) You’re right, mistakes are all part of the process, but I shouldn’t get so upset about them. 🙂
    Meanie-I recommend going to a consignment store, as you can find lots of nice sweaters at a reduced price. As for the driver, yeah I give him mad props-I would never sing in front of people like that.

  10. titania

    Anyone who says that animals do not have feelings have never had a pet, and they have absolutely no idea what they are talking about.

  11. hannah78 Post author

    Titania-Or they’re just arrogant and think that humans are the only creatures on the planet with emotions and conscious thoughts.

Leave a Reply

