Thanksgiving and my Short Week

Thanksgiving dinner-2009

Anyone else feel like they blinked and the long weekend was over? For me, it was a giant blur of cleaning, drawing and cooking. We had our big dinner on Sunday and it was a great feast of veggie shepherd’s pie, tofurkey, real turkey, fake gravy, real gravy, turnips and carrots, rolls, stuffing, cranberry sauce and two dessert pies. Now we have a sweet week of eating leftovers, no more cooking until its all gone. I made a vegetarian shepherd’s pie because I figured it could feed the most amount of people with it and also made two dessert pies.

Thanksgiving pies-2009

The fruit pies were from scratch and I had a mini-meltdown because A)I had been cooking since 7am that morning and B)the dough for the apple one wasn’t coming together properly. (Despite me using ice cold everything! Argh! Ah well, I should remember that excellent pie making takes practice. Lots 0f yummy practice!:))

On Monday, I slept like crap and couldn’t breathe through my nose and my throat hurt. Thank the Pilgrims and Indians (Aboriginals, sorry!)  it was a holiday, because going to work like that would have sucked! The cold is still with me, but I’m not going down without a fight! Last night, I also attempted to do yoga, except this time I had to do it in my living room so hubby could watch the hockey game in the basement.  It didn’t go very well-The cats rubbed against me in child’s pose and the dog insisted on smothering me with kisses in corpse pose! LOL. Hopefully tonight the TV downstairs will be free.:)

It’s a three-day work week for us-We’ve got our last wedding (phew!) to go to this weekend in Toronto and I’m taking this Friday off. Do you think the couple would mind if I wore jeans and sneakers? I think my feet have exceeded their limit for the requisite wedding (aka. painful!) foot wear.

20 thoughts on “Thanksgiving and my Short Week

  1. XUP

    Aren’t holidays great? You wear yourself down to a frazzle and end up sick afterwards. Your pies look great. What do you make the veggie shepher’s pie with?

  2. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-Seriously! Ah well, its nice to spend time with family and as mentioned, get to eat all those wondeful leftovers. The shepherd’s pie is my own recipe using veggie ground round, tomato sauce, spices, assorted vegetables, potatoes and aged cheddar cheese. 🙂

  3. quackattack

    Haha – I gave up on doing yoga at home with George around … he insists on getting underneath me when I’m in downward facing dog … and ontop of me in corpse. Ah, pets. 🙂

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Quackattack-LOL. Yeah, pets are like: “What the hell are you doing?” While I was attempting to do yoga, I thought to myself that maybe I should go back to the classes at the rec center.;)
    Chris-LOL. Let me know how that works out for you.

  5. Kate

    I probably shouldn’t have, but the thought of the cats rubbing against you and the dog giving you kisses during yoga made me laugh! They just love you so much! 🙂

  6. f.B

    I do feel like I blinked and the weekend was over. But I would take that blink over the distant, unchanging stare I’m doing at work today in a heartbeat.

    The food looks delicious. And it reminds me that it’s way past time for lunch.

  7. Linda

    I always buy premade dough for pies. It’s always perfect and tastes the same to me-not to mention the time it saves. Your meal looks really tasty.

  8. hannah78 Post author

    Kate-LOL. That or bugging me during yoga is their way of mooching for food! 😉
    f.B-I absolutely agree with you and I am doing a similar ‘stare’ today at work. Enjoy your lunch!
    Walkingonsunshine-Thanks! 🙂
    Pinklea-It tastes better vegetarian. (in my opinion anyway)
    Linda-I don’t know, I find that premade stuff tastes kinda weird. But it does come in handy when you’re in a pinch and only have a few moments to cook.
    Meanie-Maybe I will..

  9. hannah78 Post author

    Robin-LOL! I was just thinking about doing that next year! I’m sure the men would be happy with a new ‘pizza tradition’. 😉

  10. LiLu

    We’re thinking about a “friends” Thanksgiving this year. If we do, my goal will be to make a homemade apple pie… we shall see!

  11. Marie

    Cannot believe you cooked all that! WOW! Awesome job lady.

    Hope you feel better soon! And just wear comfortable shoes. Not worth the pain.

  12. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-Best of luck in your pie making! 🙂
    Darrell-No, I have priority. (Didn’t you read the fine print in our marriage contract? LOL)
    Marie-My dog ate my comfy shoes. But I’ll see if I can find new ones in TO.
    Wendi-Why wait? Why not start “practicing” right now? 😉

Leave a Reply

