Dancer’s Bazaar weekend

Dancers Bazaar1-Oct.24.09

On Saturday morning, my mom and I went to a bellydancer’s bazaar. After the doors opened, we went in and I followed the signs to the nearest ATM machine. The machine was located in a bar next door and as I approached the door, this jerk of a vendor sitting on the sidelines looked at me and said:”Can I have your card”
Me *thinking he meant my admission ticket, gave him said ticket*

Him: “What is this? No, I want your bank card. I want your money”

Me: *Glared at him like “wtf?” *

Him: “That was a joke.”

Me: “Fun-nny”

Because nothing is more hilarious than pretending to stick someone up. Moron! Anyways, I got my money from next door and after ignoring his next comment “Where’s my money”, we were all set to browse.

Dancers Bazaar-Oct.24.09

I wish that I had taken some pictures of the individual merchandise, but I wasn’t sure if that would be o.k.  My multi-talented bellydance instructor was there giving tarot card readings and invited my mom into her “tent” for a reading. I tend to be a little bit skeptical of tarot card/palm readers, but apparently she gave my mom a very accurate reading. While she was in there, I managed to buy a very nice Turkish coin belt, since my last one got misplaced during our last move.

Pierrecrate

Saturday morning was also when hubby took Pierre to the vet since our cat has been smelling pretty nasty this past while. Turns out he had infected anal glands and the vet took him downstairs to have them “expressed” and got a shot for the infection at the same time. Needless to say, Pierre was not impressed! LOL. I never heard about this issue before, but these glands need to be expressed regularly or else your pet can run into major problems. But I read recently that putting more fibre in your cat or dog’s diet can help.  We’ll be taking our whole ménagerie to the vet’s this weekend to get all their butts checked. And if you own a dog or cat and haven’t done this yet already, I recommend you do the same thing!

19 thoughts on “Dancer’s Bazaar weekend

  1. hannah78 Post author

    Dr. Monkey-Yeah! Me too! But I’m excited to think about all the kind of people it will attract to my little blogosphere. 😉
    Chris-LOL! I know right? My life is full of such glamour! 😉

  2. quackattack

    Most groomers will “express” the anal glands when they’re cleaning the rest of your doggie up …

  3. hannah78 Post author

    Quackattack-Really? I’ve never heard of that. I’ll ask my groomer about it next time we’re there. Thanks! 🙂
    f.B-LOL! Seriously! What’s he gonna joke with strangers about next? Rape, murder, arson? The innapropriate and offensive possibilities are endless! 😉
    Robin-No fun for them and no fun for us either! 😉

  4. Tug

    OMG. When my daughter was in vet tech school, she called me one night – and she ALWAYS talks fast. I asked what she did that day, and she said “I expressed anal glands on a dog”. I obviously wasn’t listening real closely, because I heard “I had sex anal with a dog”. Seriously…how do you respond to that with your DAUGHTER?

  5. Wandering Coyote

    Hey – I read tarot cards!

    That joke about wanting your card/money was NOT funny. WTF is wrong with that guy?

    I’ve heard of that anal glad problem but haven’t had it with my cat. She was at the vet a couple of months ago and the vet never said anything about it…Ew, though, just…EW!

  6. Linda

    I’ve never done this with my cat-in fact, I haven’t been to the vet since we moved to France. He smells ok though. Reminds me of Phoebe’s song on Friends entitled ” Smelly Cat”.

  7. hannah78 Post author

    Deutlich-Its not pleasant to think about, but its worth discussing it with your vet. 🙂
    Mireille-Yep, this is truely one of my more “charming” blog posts. 😉
    Tug-LFMAO! You are too funny!
    Marie-He seems better. We’ll know better when we take him to our vet again for a checkup.
    Wandering Coyote-Well I’m sure some fortune tellers are great at their craft, but I have just seen too many con artists around that its made me cynical. Yeah, our vets have never brought up anal glands before either, which is odd. Ah well, now we know.:)
    Linda-LOL. I love Phoebe’s songs! Thankfully Marcus smells better now though.:)

  8. XUP

    Doesn’t the vet check these out when they have their annual check-up? I thought that’s what ANNUAL means? Har har har. But really, if they need to be done regularly, why isn’t it part of the regular check-up?

  9. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-Good question! It’s only through research on my part and pushing hubby to take him to the vet to get checked out that we discovered the problem. Vets should really talk to more owners about it!

  10. LiLu

    Ooooo… I knew that could happen to my beloved wrinkly dogs, like bulldogs and pugs… I had no idea it could happen to our kitties!!!

Leave a Reply

