Too Old for Silly Hats? Perish the thought!

“You look weird”

This phrase came out of my husband’s mouth recently as we departed to do our grocery shopping. Apparently he didn’t want to be seen with his wife in public if she was wearing her fabulous cat hat. My response was: “Well I happen to like my cat hat and am proud of my cat lady craziness, so shaddap!”

He was probably teasing and he does love (or well tolerates) my ‘weird’ accessories and purchases, but his remark along with XUP recent post on adulthood got me thinking. Perhaps I am too old for such frivolities.  My current employment existential crisis has prompted me to become more serious about my career and make some changes. But should moving up the corporate food chain require forfeiting all character and personality, in order to become a bland drone?

Do we all have to become the same kind of stereotypical adult? Wearing the same “grownup” clothes, eating the same food, watching the same shows and discussing inane topics around the water coler?

Yech! No thanks! Perhaps the trick to real happiness is to ‘play’ pretend adult Monday-Friday, 9-5pm and let your silly child side shine in your off-time. Cat hat or no cat hat. 🙂

22 thoughts on “Too Old for Silly Hats? Perish the thought!

  1. XUP

    I don’t think you should even start wearing “normal” clothes at work. If you’re not dressing in a way that makes you comfortable and makes you feel like you then work is going to be even more miserable for you than it already is. There are always ways to maintain your individual style and still fit into a work environment — especially in the public service. If you were like a banker or lawyer or firefighter you’d have to toe the line clothing-wise.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-I suppose so. In my building, I’ve seen people come to work in Hawaiian shirts! So I suppose I’m not the only “weird” one around! LOL
    Lacochran-That analogy fits me too! LOL

  3. quackattack

    I think your cat-hat looks fun … if I was more confident, I’d be wearing one, too. 🙂
    Shine on you crazy diamond! 😉

  4. f.B

    I try to slip some of that childish side in during the workdays. It’s fun to see people wonder why I’m smiling and actually enjoying myself despite being at work.

  5. Mary G

    Never! I have a very grown up black dinner suit that the husband bought me so that he would not cringe when I appeared with him in public.
    I wear the suit – with bright red shoes.

  6. hannah78 Post author

    Quackattack-Thanks! I’m glad somebody appreciates my hat! 😉
    f.B-That’s the spirit! It must be nice for your coworkers to see someone who isn’t completely dour at the workplace.
    Mary G-LOL. I would wear shoes like that with a ‘proper’ suit too!

  7. Robin

    You should see my husband’s weird winter hat, sigh, but it’s him so after time it now doesn’t phase me. I love the hat.

  8. Kate

    “Do we all have to become the same kind of stereotypical adult?”

    Oh my god, I hope not. And if we do, I am doing a piss-poor job of it.

  9. hannah78 Post author

    B-Me too! “Normal” is overrated!
    Robin-What does his hat look like?
    Marie-Glad to hear it! 🙂
    Kim-I like your weird.:)
    Kate-LOL. Yeah, I have kinda failed in the whole ‘conservative and tactful adult’ department

  10. hannah78 Post author

    Walkingonsunshine-Well wear what you want but within reason. I don’t think young children or very senior citizens should wear mini-skirts and tube tops or stuff like that! LOL. I think zany but not TOO crazy is the way to go.
    Chris-LOL. Well thanks. You’ll hopefully see it tomorrow at brunch.:)

  11. Claudia Cloud

    PRETEND TO BE A GROWN UP (SOME TIMES) THATS THE TICKET!

    I SAY, NEVER GROW UP! ITS JUST SO BAD FOR YOUR HEATH! I LOVE LOVE LOVE YOUR HAT! I’VE JUST STATRED TO CROCHET, AND MADE MYSELF DOCTOR WHO’S (TOM BAKER’) SCARF… AND I ADORE WEARING IT!!!! I THINK YOU ARE A BRILLIANTLY BEAUTIFUL PERSON IN MY BOOKS!!!!!!

    CHEERS
    ~CLAUDIA

Leave a Reply

