Remembrance Day Gratitude and Productivity

There are some definite pluses to being a public servant-Dental and medical coverage, nice pension, job security and we get Remembrance Day off. I spent part of that day ruminating on the courage of former and current soldiers and feeling very grateful for their sacrifices.  Yay! for freedom and democracy! While the rest of the day was spent in a rush of creative productivity and I finished this painting:..Tulips

…and got started on another one. Since it was a nice sunny day and those are becoming few and far between, I took my materials outside and painted en plein air. I also watched “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” and quite liked it. There were some genuinely beautiful scenes in that movie. (And not just the ones of Brad Pitt swimming naked. Although those were nice too! LOL)

Tonight, I’ll be going to French which will be weird since it feels like forever since I’ve gone. My instructor was sick, then I was sick, so it will probably be awkward. Ah well, I’m considering taking a French painting class in the winter, so that way I can improve both my painting and French language skills. Two birds, one stone, non?

11 thoughts on “Remembrance Day Gratitude and Productivity

  1. Marie

    Oui! Sounds like a good plan and loooovely painting! Reminds me of spring which in this horrid weather we’ve been having I miss so much.

  2. brad

    i still haven’t seen that movie, yet. i think it’s stranded somewhere on my Netflix queue.

    but i like your painting. even at this low resolution it seems so vibrant.

  3. Kate

    I loved TCCOBB, too! I’d heard some not-so-great things about it, so I was pleasantly surprised when I finally got around to seeing it.

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Marie-Thanks and yes, I am already dreaming about Spring. 😉
    Brad-You should watch it, the three hours actually go by pretty fast.:)
    Kate-Exactly! Me too! There is even a guy who created a “I hate TCCOBB” site! Which is crazy!

  5. Chris

    I had the day off too, but I took time to remember the sacrifices that have been made for our country. Sadly, I don’t think I was nearly as productive as you.

  6. XUP

    I think an excellent idea would be to add another bird to that stone killing queue and take your French painting class in France! Now THAT would be a cool way to learn French

  7. hannah78 Post author

    Chris-Did you make yummy nachos again? Because that is very productive! 😉
    XUP-Y’know its funny you mention that, because yesterday I was fantasizing about how cool it would be to take art classes in France. All I have to do is first win the lottery and I’ll be set. 😉

  8. hannah78 Post author

    K-Awesome, yes, but at the same time disconcerting. The other shoe is bound to drop at some point and I am worried about when it does. 😛

Leave a Reply

