Short Weekend and Blah Monday

The weekend went by fast, seems like their becoming shorter and the work days are becoming longer. But maybe that’s just due to my current severe disatisfaction with how I spend my 9-5. But that’s another blog post. (Probably a “for invitation only” and not public post.)

Anyways, on the weekend, I took Selena to the vet for one more butt checkup and the vet gave her another antibotic shot, but hopefully this will be our last visit to the vets for awhile. We saw a mammoth Irish Wolfhound at the vet’s and it was so cute to see our little brown furball look..wayy..up at his face and attempt to kiss him. I love giant breeds-They are such darlings, but their food and vet bills are pricey and unfortunately they don’t live too long. But this wolfhound looked good, all smiles. 🙂

Later that day, I went to my parents place and brought my wedding dress and some things that were in storage at their place to my house.  My allergies have been terrible lately, so I also bought a new vacuum for the stairs and couches and am looking to buy a new upright vacuum with a hepa filter. If anyone’s got any suggestions, I’m all ears. 🙂

Saturday night, CM and I went to see “Paranormal Activity“. The theatre was full of teenagers who kept giggling and saying “Oh my God!”, which was irritating, plus one numbnut who kept yelling out “genital warts!” during the previews, which he thought was hilarious. (We really don’t need to hear about your medical problems buddy!)  Plus, I skipped dinner and gorged on popcorn and combined with jerky camera motions, I was worried that I might heave in the middle of the movie! Luckily, however, the feeling subsided after awhile. I saw a bunch of people leave during the beginning of the film, maybe it was scaring them or maybe they were just sick of the dumb teenagers. LOL. Anyways, the movie itself was good-The protagonists ignored all common sense, like horror movie characters do and proceeded to get themselves even more stuck in a bad situation. I wasn’t scared by this movie right away, but going to sleep that night…proved to be a bit difficult. 😉

On Sunday, I did some drawings and hubby and I watched the very last episode of “Six Feet Under“. It was a great series and I’m sad that we finished it. Some shows lose quality after a few seasons, but that show stayed strong until the end. Now, we just have to find a new series. I am loving the new season of “Dexter” with John Lithgow, but hubby just isn’t as into ‘dueling serial killers’ as I am. LOL.  Has anyone one else been watching that show?

19 thoughts on “Short Weekend and Blah Monday

  1. XUP

    My only contrtibution today would be to advise against an upright vaccuum. There are so many areas you can’t get to with an upright and they’re a lot noisier than the cannister variety. A bagless cannister with a hepa filter should do the trick. Also, have you had your vents cleaned lately? They can shoot a lot of crap around your house without you noticing.

  2. hannah78 Post author

    XUP-Thanks for your input.:) I’ll look for a bagless canister and will definitely look into having our vents cleaned.
    Robin-Great minds think alike! 😉
    Lacochran-Pfft! No! The ushers are usually kids themselves and they just stand out in the hallway, not in the theatres themselves. The jerks in the crowd along with the ballooning prices make me want to forego the movie theatre experience entirely!
    Amanda-Me too! I haven’t seen any that match up to it!

  3. Kate

    I’m sure it wasn’t funny in the theater, but the “genital warts” thing did make me snicker. 😉

    How did you feel about the final episode of Six Feet Under? Did you cry buckets like I did?

    I just couldn’t get into Dexter … he will always be David Fisher to me.

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Kate-I’ve cried during so much of Six Feet Under, so I tried to resist getting all emotional during the finale. But of course, stoicism has never worked for me, so I ended up blubbering. LOL. The last episode impacted me on so many levels, its hard to express. 🙂

  5. Titania

    I *love* big, giant breeds, have my two beloved monsters now (German Shepherds), and would love to have rotties, great danes, wollfe hounds, mastiffs, Burmese… absolutely love them…

  6. The Maven

    Hubby and I have gone to see two movies in the last few weeks, and both times were highly annoyed with the teenagers/college kids and their incessant talking, laughing and outright rudeness. It’s made us think we might want to invest in a larger t.v. and not go to movies any longer. Our reason is always that we want the ‘big screen experience’, which is why we saw 2012 and Zombieland before they came out on DVD. But if we’re going to pay $40 just to hear someone else’s running commentary, I’d rather just wait for video.

    Oops. Got off on a bit of a rant there…

  7. brad

    This post is full of entertainment I want to see. I haven’t seen Paranormal Activity, Six Feet Under or Dexter, but I want to sit down and watch all three. There are just so many new shows on TV and so many old series on my Netflix queue that I can’t keep up.

  8. pinklea

    Wasn’t that last episode of Six Feet Under amazing?? I watched it a couple of times in quick succession, I loved it so much. Don’t know about Dexter, but I’m currently catching up on The Tudors and am thoroughly that. I didn’t think I would, since I am a bit of a history buff and know quite a bit about that period of English history, but it has certainly surpassed all my expectations – especially the acting.

  9. hannah78 Post author

    Titania-Large breeds are such big babies eh? I hope to get one when we have a bigger yard and would like to adopt one from a rescue, like this one:
    http://www.gentlegiantsrescue.com/
    Though closer to Ontario.:)
    The Maven-Hey can I come over if you do get that super large TV? 😉 Yeah the movie going experience sure as hell isn’t what it used to be (Same as shopping. Mammoth franchises that cause more stress)
    Brad-Well you should put all of them at the top of your queue! Oh and I recommend the Dexter books too, if you have some time during your commute to read.:)
    Pinklea-It really really was. Very introspective and thought-provoking too. Hmm..I think I’m going to rent the Tudors and see what it’s like. I keep hearing so many great things about it. I’m not as into English history, but it sounds like a good series.:)

  10. hannah78 Post author

    Kim-LOL. I wouldn’t be surprised. Michael C. Hall is such a versatile actor and his abs are pretty nice. 😉
    LiLu-You haven’t seen it? You and Brad should have a “Dexter” party and rent the first two seasons!

  11. Marie

    I LOVE Dexter! I only watched the first season online on netflix. Didn’t watch the second season because I’m hoping netflix will have it online like it did the first season.

    It’s a great series (or so I think).

  12. Blueberry

    I think we will save Paranormal Activity for small screen DVD. My husband got motion sickness during Cloverfield at the theater, another one with jerky camera movements.

  13. hannah78 Post author

    Blueberry-Yeah those kind of movies can make you very ill and/or give you a headache. I think this one will be the last one that I see in the theater as well.

Leave a Reply

