December already?

Time goes by way too fast! I can’t believe 2009 is almost over already! Are you guys ready for Hannukah/Christmas/whateveryoucelebratethatsinDecember? I’m not and is it just me or are people rushing more this year then last? Last month, I actually saw Christmas trees in some peoples living rooms! Christmas trees! In frickin’ November!

Why is there such a blind panic during this part of the year anyways? Why can’t people wait until at least after Remembrance Day to bust out the inane Christmas music and ornaments? The only rush that I feel is to get my shopping done, because it is a major pain in the ass! (Some years I’ve done it in September) All the other chuzpah can wait until December!

But now that its the 12th month, I will gradually ease into the holiday spirit and what better place to start then with food? If you look up in my notes, you will notice that I’ve added some “holiday” recipes. Keep checking as I will update it with new yummy treats! 🙂

Picture: http://www.scrapbookersclubhouse.com/oscommerce/catalog/images/kf_calendar_creations_rubons_december.jpg

11 thoughts on “December already?

  1. Kate

    I have to admit, I love the Christmas season. I could keep a tree up all year and it wouldn’t bother me a bit. 🙂 Christmas Day is depressing as hell to me, but I love all the lights and decorations, designing our photo Christmas cards, listening to Bing Crosby and all the fun stuff that leads up to that day. I suppose it helps that Brian and I don’t do gifts — I only have to buy for my mom and my nieces and nephews.

  2. pinklea

    I’ve been feeling that there’s this huge rush to Christmas this year, too. Lots of people in my neighbourhood have had their outdoors lights since mid-November, and many of my friends have their trees up and their homes all decorated too (which begs the question: how can these people be my friends if they’re in such a big hurry to “start” Christmas?). I’m starting to feel the pressure, and it’s still 23 more sleeps till the big day. Arrgghh!

  3. XUP

    I love this time of year because I always take the last 2 weeks of the year off and just hunker down and relax. I refuse to get on the Xmas whirligig. I get gifts online and wait for them to arrive at my door; spend a few days with the extended family; visit with some friends, but that’s about it. No mad decorating, no cramming into the malls, no furious baking (unless some hockey pucks are needed)

  4. hannah78 Post author

    Pinklea-What is with people this year? You’d think Christmas was some kind of extremely rare cosmic event the way their behaving! So odd.
    XUP-Two weeks? Lucky you! Baking is fun! The secret is eggnog (aka. Rum with a splash of nog!;) )

  5. Robin

    Lucky for me, and I consider it so, I have almost nothing at all to do this year. No presents to buy, only 1 big party to go to that I’ve been going to for years. That is the holiday spirit in my book, doing as little as possible so I don’t hurt others.

  6. hannah78 Post author

    Robin-It’s best not to stretch yourself too thin. The original purpose of the holidays, at least in my mind is to eat, sleep, relax and appreciate your loved ones.:)

  7. hannah78 Post author

    LiLu-There’s snow on your blog now? Cool, I’m going to have to go and visit! Any photos of your cats in Santa hats yet? 😉

  8. get off my lawn

    Peanut butter, lemon juice, garlic, soy sauce, brown sugar, a dash of curry, a little water. Cook stir-fry sized chicken breast chunks in a pan. Pour sauce over chicken and rice or noodles. Not exactly traditional, but may be the best thing for this transition into the holidays. Happy… enterin the spirit?

  9. Pingback: Ready, set … Christmas! « Pinklea

Leave a Reply

