Pain in the Butt-Part II

As some of you are aware, I have issues with my tailbone. Pain to be exact. Pain that comes and goes and sometimes becomes so unbearable that I literally cannot sit down.

Yeah it sucks the big one. (Particularly when you consider the fact that I spend 10 hours/day sitting as part of my commute and job)

After getting nothing but a patronizing look and a suggestion that I change my office chair from my dickhead doctor, I decided after one particularly torturous day, to check into a clinic to get some real answers. The doctor at the clinic gave me some anti-inflammatories and told me to get an x-ray.

Well kittens, I did so and followed up on the results with her last night. Turns out that there are no abnormalities with the bones in my back-yay!-but she is referring me to a proctologist so they can rule out any possible gastrointestinal issues. So basically, I have to endure an extremely humiliating (and possibly painful) test with this guy and pray that I don’t have Crones or something. If they find nothing, then I will be put on the waiting list for an MRI .

If the pain continues, I could look forward to getting a needle in my bum. They call it a cortisone injection-I call it “I-will-never-complain-again-about- getting-the-flu-shot-again shot!”)

So basically, proctologist exam followed by needle in the bum.  Isn’t that just awesomely craptastic?

On the way home, I began to ruminate on how stupid I was to get myself into this mess. Specifically, I used to do a fairly high contact sport and was thrown down quite a few times and this former hobby of mine is more than likely the reason behind my pain. So it is self inflicted which makes me feel awful. Why did I continue with this sport for as long as I did? Several reasons-Because I was starting to excel at it, I didn’t want to let my coach down and it gave me confidence.  As an insecure and sensitive person, an activity that makes me feel good about myself really was worth its weight in gold and I cherished the pride and thrill that I got from it.Plus, that sport could be a lot of fun and enabled me to get into fantastic shape. (I should add that we did use safety equipment, but I guess nothing is guanteed when you’re a small person like me)

I’m not sure if the skills I acquired or levels I achieved in this activity were quite worth the pain I now experience, but at least I can say I did it and am proud of what I accomplished in what is widely considerered to be an extremely difficult activity.

Picture-http://www.pennmedicine.org/encyclopedia/em_PrintArticle.aspx?gcid=003807&ptid=1

15 thoughts on “Pain in the Butt-Part II

  1. quackattack

    Oh man …

    1. I’ve been through all those unpleasant tests due to some symptoms I had a couple years back combined with a family history of colon cancer … there’s no way to sugarcoat it … my only advice: be brave.

    2. 5 years of rugby … 3 teams … one ruined knee, one ruined back, and I don’t know how many concussions because I refused to go to the doctor. I totally relate to that “insecure and sensitive person” stuff you said above.

    Good luck – hope it’s nothing serious!

  2. Pauline Post author

    Quackattack-Man poor you! I’m hoping this test will be the only one of its kind. Thank you for your words of support, its nice to hear from someone who understands how hard it can be to give something up that you have worked very hard at.:)

  3. Chris

    I can’t say I’ve been through anything like that…. although I have bad knees and they have put me through hell over the years.

  4. Kate

    I’m sorry to hear about your troubles, uh, Pauline (I will always want to call you Hannah!). That really sucks and I hope modern medicine can help you get rid of the pain or keep it to a minimum. Also, it’s great that you were able to do so well at your chosen sport! Even though it may have caused you injury, at least you got something positive out of it.

  5. deutlich

    Aww, honey! Don’t feel bad about the sport you used to do! Even perfectly “safe” sports can lead to one strain or the other. I mean, runners?? How many of them have hip problems even though it’s touted as, like, the best thing ever for your health…

    Anyhoodles. I’m keepin’ ma fingers & toes crossed that they can get to the bottom of this!

  6. XUP

    Don’t dismiss the office chair option so quickly. It’s amazing how much damage spending an entire day at a workstation that is wrong for you can do. You don’t notice it because it accumulates over time. Humans were not meant to sit in one spot for hours a day – every last bit of our bodies are adversely affected by this. I hope your issue is a minor one.

  7. Pauline Post author

    Deutlich-Aww, thanks, that makes me feel a bit better and you’re right lots of sports can causes injuries.
    XUP-Well I got a fancy new office chair that is specifically designed for back problems and I’m still in pain, so obviously its not the cause. (Plus, my doctor is notorious for misdiagnosis and not bothering to investigate his patients problems more seriously, which can lead to some pretty dangerous health issues. But like I said he’s a dickhead.)

  8. brad

    Ugh. Sorry. But you’re doing the right things: being proactive, getting help. It can be awkward and embarrassing, but it just has to be better than not knowing what’s wrong or having it linger forever.

  9. Wandering Coyote

    Man, this just goes from bad to worse…

    I hate that rule in ON where you have to sign on with one doctor…Because I’d totally be looking for someone new if I were you…

  10. Pauline Post author

    LiLu-Thanks and I hope your shins get better.:)
    Brad-You’re so right and I really needed to hear that. (Because I’ve been second guessing the doctors advice to go to the proctologist, because I really don’t want to go. But I should just get it over with!)
    Wandering Coyote-Oh I WON’T be back to see him that I can guarantee. (I just haven’t ‘officially’ dumped him yet.) It really sucks in Ontario doctor-wise. There aren’t nearly enough!

  11. Mary @ Holy Mackerel

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. I had to have that test, and so many other not-so-pleasant and extremely embarrassing tests, and they are not fun, but, unfortunately, necessary.

    Good luck. Let us know how you’re doing.

    First time here. I’ll be back!

  12. Pauline Post author

    Mary-Welcome aboard and thank you for your kind words. I’m thinking a million calories and alcohol will be in order quickly following this test. Sensible diet be damned!;)

Leave a Reply

