Wouldn’t it be nice?…

Retirement. Its a word I’ve been hearing a lot lately, particularly since a large chunk of my coworkers have either left recently or will be leaving very soon. They just love to bring it up:

Them: “Yep, I’m retiring next week/next month/sometime in the very near future”

Me: “Wow, how nice for you.” (While I’m thinking in my head ‘You smug lucky bastard’!)

But then I see some others-easily pushing 70 or 80+-who are still working here! Its not a matter of not being able to afford to retire, they should have a good government pension saved up, its just they are so commited and/or love their jobs so much, that they just can’t picture themselves doing anything else.

Wow! Is all I gotta say, because I can think of a million things I’d rather be doing!

I’m considering even retiring early, but that will take some extra planning and consideration on my part and I guess we’ll see how things go. I’ve still got lots of time to think about it.

What about you? Are you close to retirement? How long would you like to keep working? Do you think giving up steady employment to retire early(ie. age of say 50) to pursue one’s dreams is too risky or possibly very worthwhile?

Picture: http://www.farcus.com

18 thoughts on “Wouldn’t it be nice?…

  1. deutlich

    I’m about as far away from retirement as they get. BUT, I do really want to enjoy my retirement when the time comes.

    But we shall see.

  2. get off my lawn

    I have a horrible financial track record – student loans with a wandering academic path, lemon second hand trucks, no house, no nothing. But I can’t see myself retired. If I don’t feel like I am contributing to society in some way, the Wally Cleaver in me starts to prattle on about the value of a hard day’s work and day’s pay. I’ll retire and take up something with a very low level of responsibility.

    Bank manager?

  3. XUP

    I’m getting close to being able to retire early and as soon as my pension is at a level where I can pay my basic bills with it, I’m the hell out of here. Then I might do some part-time work or freelance work for mad money. I don’t understand the people who work forever either, except that work is what defines them; they seem to have no other real identity. Sure they may be husband and fathers and grandfathers, but what they DO is what’s important to them. (And notice I’m using the male nouns because I’ve never seen a woman in the government who works past 60 — most leave at 55 or sooner)

  4. Pauline Post author

    Deutlich-In today’s economy, I guess its tough to know one way or the other when one will retire.
    Lacochran-Yeah me too, but maybe if we both start socking more money away right now, the possibility can turn into probability. (Yeah right!)
    Get off my lawn-There are plenty of people who are retired who greatly contribute to society. In fact, many of the places where I used to volunteer, were 50% retirees, 50% whippersnappers like myself. Also-Many people who retire take university/college classes or get part time jobs in fields that they’ve always wanted to get into, but never had a chance until now. I don’t think I’ve seen many old and eager bank managers though.;)

  5. Kate

    Retirement seems like some far-off dream. Both Brian and I are saving, saving, saving, but since we’re both in our 30s, who knows what things will be like 30 years for now. Brian has a pension, but I do not, nor do most of the people I know who are my age. That’s why I started a Roth IRA and a high-yield savings account. I might never be able to fully retire, but I’m hoping to have enough to live on should I live to a ripe old age.

  6. Pauline Post author

    Kate-That’s smart of you to start those accounts. Most people our age don’t realize how important it is to start saving now, even if they don’t plan on retiring for a long time.:)

  7. omawarisan

    I’m inside of 4 years to go. I wont stop working, but I will stop doing my current job…or anything like it.

    I’ll be 52…too young to just put my feet up. I like being around people too much.

    Oh and when you congratulate, but think “smug lucky bastard”, they know you’re thinking that, they love it…and they wish the same for you when your time comes

  8. kilax

    I work for the government as well! Recently, a coworker retired and WOULD NOT shut up about it. It was so annoying.

    I think if it is feasible, I will retire as early as I can, to enjoy life more! I do love my job though. It’s hard to say now!

  9. Pauline Post author

    Kilax-I think anyone caught bragging excessively should have to retire extra, extra early! LOL. I feel the same way as you about retiring early to enjoy life (except I hate my job, so there is that added incentive! ;))

  10. Pauline Post author

    Omawarisan-I can’t say I enjoy people as much. Some people are good and decent, but there are also quite a few jerks, and you usually end up working with more than your fair share during your career. It can make working even more miserable. But perhaps I need to focus more on the good, positive individuals and tune out the bad.
    Artman-Get thee to a bank and talk to a representative! 🙂

  11. brad

    I don’t know if I could ever retire. I’ve got a while to think about it. But I can’t see myself retired and not still doing something professionally, even if it’s just part-time, consulting, freelance or something like that. My ideal retirement would be having the choice to work or not and, if I chose to work, doing what I love when I want.

  12. Pauline Post author

    Brad-Y’know that sounds pretty good. Retirement to me doesn’t mean sitting on your ass. To me, it would involve chasing all those dreams that I’ve always wanted to pursue, but weren’t practical when I was younger.

  13. Mireille

    Some people like their jobs? Some people like their jobs in the government??

    All kidding aside, there are a bunch of late 60 – 70 gov’t people still working where I am. I don’t understand how some people can actually prefer pushing paper to travelling, reading, cooking, pursuing hobbies, etc. etc. etc.

    I’ve been looking forward to retirement since the age of 18 and started investing in RRSPs as soon as I was old enough. I’m going for freedom 45!!!

  14. Pauline Post author

    Mireille-Yep, I am as dumbfounded as you are about people actually wanting to work past the age of 65.

    Wow! I admire your discipline in saving for retirement so early! You go for Freedom 45! 🙂

Leave a Reply

