Cabin Fever

I am feeling so incredibly antsy. And bored. And lonely. I can’t even remember the last time I went out and went wild. Seems like forever ago! I don’t want to get drunk or high or do anything too stupid. I just want to get out of the house and feel some kind of freedom from this soul crushing routine even if its just for a few hours!

But then where would I go? There is snow everywhere, any kind of real escape would cost quite a bit of money and clubs are for kids and single people. (and are usually full of putzes anyway)

When I was a senior in high school and during my undergrad in university, my former best friend and I used to go for long drives in my parents car. Summer or winter, when we got sick of staring at the four walls of our houses, we would drive around in the farmlands and look at stars. Those same fields have since been taken over by town homes and box stores and our friendship soured and ended, but the fun we had and the spontaneity of those drives will always be a beautiful memory to me.

But surely those days aren’t over yet right? I now own a car and can go anywhere I want…but now it seems like much more work and there is the whole cost-benefit analysis going on in my brain. ie:

“Is driving to XYZ worth the gas money and preparation? Is going to such-and-such’s-I-barely-know-this-person’s party worth the aggravation? What if I spend most of my time staring at bean dip, bored out of my mind, while everyone else forms awkward, impenetrable cliques?”

Whatever happened to just going out and being open to come what may? Whatever happened to laughing until my sides hurt? Seems it has fallen by the wayside in a cycle of work-commute-darkness-sleep-worry about money.

Picture-http://mclbooklovers.vox.com/library/posts/tags/booklists/

28 thoughts on “Cabin Fever

  1. J.

    What about taking a mini-vacation?

    Go to Toronto for the weekend and see Body Worlds at the Ontario Science Centre

    Visit Montreal. Go shopping.

    Take the afternoon off and go to Le Nordik.

    Just a few ideas.

  2. XUP

    Ya, you wake up one day and you’re a grown-up. I was reminded of this just last night when an old friend found me on FB and said, “Hey, the last time I say you, you were hanging off the 2nd floor balcony of a house with a bunch of other people and you were having too much “fun” to even know who the hell I was.” Ahhhh…good times! I think the footloose freedom of mindless fun is over once you develop a sense of responsiblity (wasting gas is expensive and environmentally unfriendly, drinking too much is unhealthy, clubbing until the wee hours is foolish because I need to be up early for work, running off on a spontaneous trip is an extravagance I can’t afford because I have to pay my bills, etc.) But that doesn’t mean you can’t still enjoy yourself in a different, responsible way. You should talk to Zoom, they’re always finding something fun and interesting to do around town for little money.

  3. Pauline Post author

    J.-Actually we saw the Body Worlds exhibit in Toronto in the early Fall, but we still have a gift certificate for Montebello resort from our wedding and we should use it! I completely forgot about it until you mentioned Québec.
    XUP-Boo adulthood! LOL. Actually I would prefer adult stability to being crazy, young and foolish, but the seriousness towards all activities does get dry after awhile. Perhaps I will talk to Zoom. What sort of activities does she get up to?

  4. Kate

    I think a lot of us are hitting this wall right about now — at least those of us who live in places where winter fiercely rears its head every year. It’s not my favorite, but I don’t mind it as much as I used to. Spring and summer will be here soon enough and then there will be lots of fun things to do outside the confines of my house.

  5. Pauline Post author

    Artman-Its a psychological phenomenon that happens a lot during the winter months. What, you’ve never been bored and restless before?
    Kate-I hope Spring comes soon! 🙂
    Wandering Coyote-Just do what? (Or do you mean..”it” as in “it”? Wink wink nudge nudge? ;))

  6. XUP

    She usually blogs about them all, so if you don’t get to talk to her directly her blogs are always a good source of activity inspiration

  7. walkingonsunshine18

    I use to go for long drives just to break up my day to day routine as well, I think it’s the best way to change the pace! I say just get lost for an afternoon, it’s the best thing ever!

  8. artman2112

    i was just being a wiseguy, but very very very rarely do i ever get bored. restless yes, to the point of not being able to go to sleep because i have 2,647 things on my mind that i wanna do and i wanna do them all NOW, lol!

    not too long ago i asked a friend, who’s always complaining about being bored, “what’s it like being bored?”

    her response: “it’s soooooo…….. BORING!”

    priceless!

  9. Kal

    OMG I so loved doing that as a kid. Driving around was the best. My friend Lance and I wrote a whole series of novels just driving around and talking the plot points out. One day we were getting food and Wendy’s. These were the days that they wore those goofy blue and white pimp hats. Lance drove up to the window but far enough out that the kid had to basically hang out the window to give us our food. Then he had a decision to make – to hear him tell it – with one foot on the gas and his arm stretched out he grabbed that pimp hat and drove away cackling like a crazy person. Of course he forgot our food but it was worth it for the ‘moment’. He couldn’t wear the pimp hat because that is like stealing bowling shoes or buying an old McDonald’s work shirt at the goodwill. Not for public consumption.

  10. Pauline Post author

    Walkingonsunshine and Coyote-Y’know, perhaps we will go for a nice drive. 🙂
    Artman-Yeah I figured. 😉 Perhaps you and your friend should do some of these “2,647 things”. You’ll be less restless and she’ll be less bored.
    Kal-You crazy kid you! The same friend who I mention in this post and I used to cause mischief too and speed off in my parents car. Nothing too serious, just pranks and having a laugh.
    Good times indeed! 🙂
    Get off my lawn-Hmm…arson. Now there is something I haven’t tried yet. Thanks! 😉

  11. Chris

    I know what you mean about cabin fever. I’m feeling it too. Could be the weather or could be me still trying to find my way in Ottawa. But I’m getting out and doing something this weekend! 🙂

  12. brad

    I’ve been ready to get out and go for days, too. I don’t have a car, but if I did, I’d head out and just drive open road with the windows down.

  13. Counter Culture Clown

    Groovy. Could you bring some to my work too? We have lots of paper products, blowing up my work would be like blowing up a giant… room full of paper. Or something…

  14. Pauline Post author

    Bevchen-Woo! Concerts can be lots of fun! Which band?
    Meanie-I had a not so great experience at Barrymore’s 80s night where some idiot spilled some of his drink on me and didn’t apologize. After that the whole night kinda dragged and it was WAY too packed in there!
    There was another club downtown that had a better 80s night, but I can’t remember the name.

Leave a Reply

