Valentines Weekend

It was an extra long weekend for me as I took Monday-Family Day-off from work. (Us public servants don’t get it as a holiday! Boo!)

On Saturday, hubby and I went to his parents for dinner. His mom thought it would be fun to host a ‘Valentines theme’ gathering and decided to test drive her new gourmet vegan cookbook on us.

I have to say that despite her and hubby’s dad not being vegan/vegetarian, the food was fantastic!

She also had all these Valentines candies laid out, so naturally I had to help myself to those as well. It was a nice evening though I went home feeling (and groaning)Β like a bloated sea cow, while hubby tried to listen to the hockey game on some AM radio station.

Sunday-Valentines Day-was so incredibly romantic and wonderful. Hubby bought me some roses during his coffee run to Tim Hortons. Maggie thought it very thoughtful that someone bought her some new plants to munch on. aka:

So naturally I spent the morning shooing her off the table. For dinner, we had cheese fondue followed by chocolate fondue. Oh and boiled artichokes, hmm…

Selena also got a haircut over the weekend. So she went from this shaggy, matted beast:

To a skinny little dog with virtually no hair, who I’m pretty sure, hates us now. LOL

So all in all it was a great weekend and I’d like to thank hubby for the effort he put into it.:)

How did you spend Valentines Day?

11 thoughts on “Valentines Weekend

  1. brad

    We actually took it pretty easy and made dinner at home, too. And we didn’t cut our dog’s hair, but we definitely thought about washing him. He needs a bath; stat.

  2. Kate

    Sounds lovely! Our V Day was pretty low-key … grocery shopping, having lunch at a restaurant we both like, naps and watching United States of Tara on DVD. We were going to go to the exotic pet store, too, but the nap totally trumped that.

  3. XUP

    How cool that your inlaws are cooking and trying vegan for your sakes. I always have to bring and/or make my own food when we go to my family’s for a meal and then they look at us strangely as we eat it and/or mock us.

  4. walkingonsunshine18

    My Valentines day was consumed with watching Gilmore Girls! LOL Looks like you had a great time!

  5. Pauline Post author

    Kate-Naps. Such a beautiful and allusive thing.
    XUP-My mother-in-law is pretty openminded about trying new things.:) That is not nice that your family mocks you for eating veggie! I bet if they tried some vegetarian fare, they would like it!
    Marie-Yum indeed!:)
    Lacochran-I tried looking for it online but forgot the title. I’ll have to call my mother in law and ask her.
    Kilax-Low-key is the best way to spend V-Day.:)
    Walkingonsunshine-You and “Gilmore Girls”! LOL. (Ha, I shouldn’t talk, I spent part of the weekend watching Season 3 of “Will and Grace”!)

  6. LiLu

    That face is so pitiful! Poor pup πŸ™‚

    Glad you had a perfect Vday. We kept ours lowkey as well… it’s just better that way.

  7. Pauline Post author

    LiLu-Haha! I know! But she needed a cut badly and was so tangled the groomer had no choice but to shave most of it off. (I think I might keep her this way. We try and groom her on our own as much as possible, but its very difficult with all the sleet and snow)
    Valentines is the perfect time to relax. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

