New Practice Painting

I finished my next ‘practice painting’ on canvas paper this weekend. Canvas paper is great, because if you muck it up really badly, you can just chuck it in the bin, tear out the next page in the pad and start over. (As opposed to ‘real canvas’ which you don’t want to just throw out, since it costs more and is more wasteful)

Anyway, the painting is famous bellydancer Rachel Brice, who is considered to be one of the best dancers in the Western bellydance world.Ā (Click on the link to watch her dance)

It may not be an exact replica, but its close enough for me for now. šŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “New Practice Painting

  1. K

    Wow! That’s really good. I’m in awe of people who can get the human form right. I’m more of a stick-person type myself.

  2. artman2112

    hey that’s awesome! yeah the tattoo, sure, that’s the focal point šŸ˜‰

    one question….what happened to her index finger?!?!?

  3. Pauline Post author

    K-There’s nothing wrong with stick figures! Most of the notes I passed around in high school contained stick figure depictions of the snotty ‘popular girls’ and ‘jerky’ teachers. šŸ˜‰
    Lynn-Thanks and if you have pie you want to share, I am your woman. How would you like to arrange for this transfer of pie?
    Artman-LOL. The fingers are supposed to be in shadow, so you can’t see some of them. I know it looks weird, but that’s how it is in the original picture. šŸ™‚

  4. XUP

    If I post some of my art will I get pie, too? (It would be worth all the mockery and ridicule my feeble artistic attempts would draw)

  5. Pauline Post author

    Lynn-I sent it to you before, but o.k. šŸ™‚
    Wandering Coyote-Thanks
    Mindfulmerchant-Aww, you’re making me blush!:)
    Marie-Merci!

  6. Lynn

    Ugh, I’ve searched and search my email and can’t find your address — virtual or actual! I’m worried my email is blocking you. Try again, and if I don’t respond, leave me a comment with your email address and I’ll try other methods!

  7. Counter Culture Clown

    I’ll try to paint the same thing.

    It’ll be a stick figure… and not even a very good one…

    Bonus points go to “get off my lawn” for the Bob Ross reference.

  8. Pauline Post author

    Get off my lawn-True. Paint can fix paint and if that fails, there is always gesso. But I thought it good to pimp canvas paper on here, since many people seem to think that they can only paint on canvas. šŸ™‚
    Counter Culture Clown-Yay stick figures! You could also try and paint an army of stick figures fighting each other. THAT would be interesting! šŸ˜‰

    Bob Ross was a hell of an artist and had such a calm, zen-like attitude. (I wonder if he was the same way in rush hour traffic though?)

  9. Counter Culture Clown

    Bob Ross painted me nude once. It was awkward, because back when he was alive and popular, I was about 7…

    “Show us on the painting where Bob Ross touched you”

    *points to the middle of my chest*

    “My heart… he… touched my heart…”

    And now I’m sobbing. Bob Ross: The last worthwhile human being on this planet? Maybe.

Leave a Reply

