Massage, Bowling and a trip to the Dogpark

On Saturday morning, I went to my second massage appointment to relieve some of the pain in my lower back. The therapist (Oh and just FYI-DON’T ever call a reputable therapist a “masseuse”, because masseuse has connotations with women who provide..”other” forms of relaxation and real therapists don’t like to be called basically prostitutes ) massaged my upper and lower back, as well as my legs and it was wonderful. On Saturday night, I went bowling with that online womens social group mentioned earlier. It was pretty fun, though by the end of it, it felt like I was undoing all the massaging from that morning. Bowling is fun, but my back can only handle it once in awhile. We went to Merivale Bowling Lanes for the “rock n’ bowl”, where everything is dark except for the glow in the dark decorations. Cheesy early 90’s dance music blasted from the stereo and the place smelled like feet. The lanes were skewed and had these plastic barriers on the sides which would cause your ball to bounce all over the place. Very odd. But it was a good night out.

Sunday’s weather was beautiful and since Selena was giving us pleading puppy dog eyes:

We drove to Conroy Pit Park for some spring off-leash dog walking.

I love taking pictures of the sun through the trees:

Conroy is a bit different from Bruce Pitt, in that it seems that dog owners would rather walk around the trails then interact with other owners and dogs.  So I didn’t get that many dog photos, but Selena did say hi to a few cuties:

and…

By the middle of our outing, I was sweating and struggling to keep up in the slushy, messy trails, so by the time we got home, I was wiped out! Luckily, hubby made a fabulous dinner of veggie burgers and stuffed potatoes for dinner. It was a great end to an early Spring day.:)

12 thoughts on “Massage, Bowling and a trip to the Dogpark

  1. K

    There’s a tree at Conroy Pit near the parking lot on the left. This tree has a huge rut around it from all the dogs running around and around and around. Makes me smile just thinking about it.

    Good for you for getting out even if you undid some of the massage.. good reason to get another!

  2. pinklea

    Oooooooh, a massage! Now that I think about it, it’s been about six weeks since I last had one – no wonder my neck is little tight! And just think, if going bowling undid some of the good that your massage did, well, darn it, you’re just going to have to get another one this week! 🙂

  3. brad

    It was a beautiful spring weekend, here, too. I hope spring lasts a while this year. Summer has been coming faster and faster lately.

  4. VioletSky

    As an RMT, may I say that I really wish masseuse/masseur did not have those unfortunate connations as I actually prefer that term. It doesn’t sound as clinical as registered massage therapist, but then also doesn’t sound as medical (which we are).

  5. Pauline Post author

    K-Ha! That tree makes me smile too! Dogs are so wonderful. 🙂
    Robin-Then I will have to come over to your photo site and take a peek!
    Pinklea-Y’know what you’re right! (Perhaps I should bowl more often. ;))
    Brad-Gotta love the warmer weather, I really hope it sticks around for a long while!
    Violetsky-It is unfortunate that the whole term is smudged because of a few sketchy establishments.
    Get off my lawn-Thanks! I’ll try and remember to avoid throwing around the term whore. LOL (Well unless I’m watching reality TV, which has a whole bunch of out and proud attention whores)
    Warm and sunny? Yep, it is pretty great! Makes me want to get out and BBQ!

  6. Pauline Post author

    Wandering Coyote-They suck the life out of me too!
    XUP-LOL. To varying extents, I suppose yes. But this one really, really smelled like feet. It was gross!

  7. Counter Culture Clown

    I went bowling once. Brought my own ball and everything. All the ladies were checkin’ me out!

    “Who’s that creepy guy bowling barefoot with the three pound ball…”

Leave a Reply

