Answers

Tuesday night I went to the clinic to follow up on my MRI. After waiting not too long, an older doctor comes into the room and tells me that basically I have an inflammation in my coccyx that is causing my muscles to spasm.

He looked down at the results sheet: “You have coccyginitist. (sp?) Wow! I’ve been practicing since 1973 and I’ve never seen that term before! How interesting!”

Me: “Um, great. So how do I get rid of it?”

Him: *Laughs*. “Well we’ll put you on Lyrica, which should help with the pain.”

He handed me the results sheet and all the other other organs and bones around the muscle in the pelvis area were described as “unremarkable”, which in MRI terms, means healthy. So yay!:)

He was one of the most talkative and gregarious doctors I’ve ever met! Most doctors are pressed for time, so they’re in and out of your room in two minutes, but he stuck around and we had a conversation about pharmaceuticals. (We were discussing this because he told me Lyica is not a narcotic, which I told him was fine since I’m not big on being ‘stoned’ all the time. Then he regaled us with stories of all the people who come in trying to ‘scam’ him for narcotics. It was..informative. LOL)

Before I forgot, I asked him about my other issue-allergies- and he said to talk to reception at the front desk to book an appointment for allergy testing.

So that’s that, some sort of inflammation is the cause of my suffering and hopefully anti-inflammatories will make it go away eventually. As for the allergies, I will be tested on Tuesday, and am forbidden from taking any more anti-histamines or nasal sprays until then, which is proving somewhat difficult. I was in fact, THAT annoying person who wouldn’t stop sneezing and blowing their nose on the bus on the way home yesterday.  I heard some passive aggressive “bless yous!” and people kinda shifted away from me, thinking I had H1N1 or the Bubonic plague or something. LOL. Nope, just allergies and having the sun in my face was making it worse!

Here’s hoping these issues go away so I can get out there and enjoy the warm weather!

18 thoughts on “Answers

  1. k

    You should get pregnant – my allergies were a no-show last spring/summer/fall because of my “delicate state”.

  2. Pauline Post author

    K-I didn’t know that could happen, hopefully if I get pregnant, it won’t bother my coccyx too much though. (Frankly I’m a little worried about carrying a baby for nine or so months and then pushing him/her out. I hear some women have BROKEN their tailbones during childbirth! Ouch!)

  3. pinklea

    It must be such a relief to know what the problem is finally! Here’s hoping the drug works wonders for you – and good luck with the allergy testing!

  4. XUP

    Well, phew! Although I would argue that you probably have a very remarkable pelvis, expecially with all that belly-dancing you do. Let’s ask hubby for a second opinion, shall we?

  5. Pauline Post author

    XUP-LOL. I think he would agree with that statement! 😉
    Robin-Yep, unlike the “assdoc” from a few posts ago, this guy was a bit more forthcoming and friendly. (Thank God!)

  6. Counter Culture Clown

    “Wow! I’ve been practicing since 1973 and I’ve never seen that term before! How interesting!””

    Wow? Really. There are a few things you never want to hear a doctor say.

    Clinic Doctor: WOW! or “hahahahahahahahaha I mean… I’m sure if you fluffed it up, it’d be big…”

    Surgeon: “Oops…” JUST as you’re falling under

    Proctologist: “Oh man, my wife is going to be pissed if she finds me without my wedding ring… nurse, get the BIG coloniscope…”

  7. Pauline Post author

    Counter Culture Clown-LOL. Yeah, those statements are never good, but hopefully my case being novel won’t prove quite as potentially disastrous.
    Kate and Artman-Thanks me too!
    Omawarisan-Oh I am enjoying the space! Gotta make the most of it, while I still can!
    Bevchen-*sends sunshine to Germany* through the power of telekinesis. There you go! 😉

  8. brad

    That’s great news. I’m glad you got some answers after the MRI and can look forward to the pain subsiding.

    And I was that person at work, on Friday; sneezing, tissues, for hours. It’s definitely that time of year.

  9. Pauline Post author

    Get off my lawn-Thanks! I did! 🙂
    Kilax-Well hopefully he’s in as good a mood next time I see him! (You never know with docs)
    Brad-Are you going to get allergy shots too?

  10. meanie

    that doctor sounds really nice.
    update us on the allergies, i suffer horribly as well and am always curious to hear what helps people.

Leave a Reply

