Surrounded by Babies

The night before last, hubby and I went to the dog park. After a loooong winter of kids using the area for sledding, it is now back to its muddy, wet glory as a place for the canines to roll around and chase each other off-leash. Shortly after arriving, a golden retriever and little girl waddled up to me. The retriever sniffed around for treat handouts, while the 2 or 3-year-old girl, whose fine hair was gathered on the top of her head in a ponytail, looked up at me with her arms raised, begging me to pick her up. Her mom says: “She wants you to pick her up”.

So I did and then the mother says: “Oh, don’t get too close, she’s sick and its a doozy.”

Thanks for telling me now! Sheesh! It reminded me of an incident a few years ago, when I was waiting outside my apartment building for my mom to pick me up so we could go shopping and this Sharpei dog comes up to me. I figured he was friendly, so I bent down and gave him a pat. His owner then approaches and warns: “Oh he likes you. Normally he bites people”

So this guy had a dog that “bites people” off-leash, in front of a high traffic apartment building. Brilliant! *eye roll*

Anyways, now I’m wondering if my fatigue is caused by fighting an infection from that kid or is just psychosomatic.

The baby shower went well: The guest of honor was thoroughly embarrassed and surprised, which means success. She’s having a girl, so it was an onslaught of pink-Pink dresses, shirts, socks, onesies and a pink cake with a stork. (Personal note: If I ever conceive and its a girl, please don’t give me pink stuff, the colour makes me gag. K? Thanks:))

But I’m proud to say that my RED giraffe and hat got the most “ooos” and “ahhs” in the room. After she opened her gifts, I hung around my supervisor and boss for small talk. My supervisor joked that I was “next” to get pregnant, to which I just laughed. (Nothing like a baby shower to put the pressure on eh?;))

Spring seems to be the time of year for weddings and babies, which is nice, but personally I’m glad that I’m not stressed out with planning for either at the moment. 🙂

Picture-http://www.zazzle.com/baby_shower_postage_stamp-172518601366484141

17 thoughts on “Surrounded by Babies

  1. Robin

    If I had a baby and if I had a girl I would not do pink but then this is coming from a girl who wore red converse for her wedding.

  2. lacochran

    [Please to forgive. I screwed up link on last comment. Trying again.]

    People don’t think. But they make great blog material. 🙂

    Speaking of pink and dogs… I couldn’t help but think of this

  3. Pauline Post author

    Robin-You were sneakers? That’s awesome! I kept threatening to wear combat boots at my wedding, which of course, horrified my poor mother to no end!

  4. pinklea

    I’m afraid I don’t understand: you don’t like the colour pink? Do you mean to tell me that there are actually people out there who *shiver* don’t like the colour pink? Is that even possible??? 😉

  5. Lynn

    Robin, you are so cool!! Someday I want to see the pictures.

    As a parent, I totally do not get kids that want strangers to pick them up. My kids were never that outgoing. And I *really* don’t get parents who encourage their kids to interact with others when sick. What the hell, lady, what the hell?

    Hope you’re healthy :).

  6. Pauline Post author

    Pinklea-I hate to be the one to tell you this, but yes, there are people who don’t love pink. I know, the world is a crazy place eh? 😉
    Lynn-Robin has wedding photos on her blog, so you can take a look there. 🙂
    I was never that outgoing as a kid..in fact, I was the polar opposite, painfully shy. But yes, if I was a parent and my kid was sick, I would make sure people stay away!
    Get off my lawn-Too true, they’re cute when their young, but then they turn into teenagers. *shudders*

  7. bevchen

    Totally with you on the pink. Why can’t girl babies be dressed in red, or green, or yellow… anything but pink!

    If I had a kid and it was sick I’d keep it away from people. Some mothers are just stupid!

  8. Pauline Post author

    Bevchen-I know! There are so many colours out there, why stick with tired pink or blue?
    Counter Culture Clown-Done! So if its a boy-Bob and if its a girl Bobette! 😉

  9. XUP

    Did you go to the shower before or after possbily getting infected by the sick kid? I also do not understand why this mother would want a stranger to pick up her kid or why the kid would want to be picked up by a stranger. All very odd

  10. Kate

    I’m with you on all the pink stuff! Give me green or pale yellow … or black. With black clothes, our baby would always match mommy and daddy. 🙂

  11. brad

    It’s so crazy that people let their dogs walk right into stimuli they know could make them on edge. If you know your dog bites, you should not be offering him/her up to strangers like it’s a free petting zoo.

  12. Pauline Post author

    XUP-After. Woops! But yes, odd indeed!
    Counter Culture Clown-;)
    Kate-Black is good, very good. Gives me an idea for future baby showers. 😉
    Brad-Agreed and its morons like these that certain breeds are banned. If your dog is not friendly, he/she should be on a leash and muzzled. Period.

Leave a Reply

