I’m Spartacusssss!

I’m completely hooked on the new show Spartacus: Blood and Sand. Based loosely on actual events and people, it revolves around the story of a Thracian, who after being let down by a Roman general in their joint battle against the Getae, forms a mutiny against the general and as punishment, is forced to become a gladiator, while his wife is sold into prostitution. His talent in combat soon becomes apparent and he becomes known as Spartacus, Champion of Capua.

 This show is filled with ultra-violence, sexuality (gay and straight) and swearing.The sets are convincing and the people toned and beautiful, in essence, it really captures the decadence and brutality of Ancient Rome. (Though obviously in a more romantic way) The fight scenes are cheesy at times, with continous nods to the movie 300, but the blood shed on this show makes True Blood look like a Disney program. Its pretty intense, which I like. My philosphy is: If you’re going to show violence, show it in all its horrible glory and that goes double for sex. I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve had it up to here with seeing the same corny Hollywood sex scenes with heavy breathing, bad music and heavy petting over underwear over and over again. Are penises and vaginas bad things? Hell no, they’re natural and part of us. Nothing whatsoever to be ashamed of, despite what uptight, ignorant people tell you. Anyways, the show also contains great characters and interesting plots, with lots of intrigue, greed, desperation and backstabbing. Check it out! After the show takes a break, I think I’m going try and rent the series “Rome“, which hubby loved while it was still on the air, but has since been cancelled. It is similar, but with, I’m assuming, less arena combat scenes.

In other news, tomorrow is Earth Hour. I’ll have to think up some exciting activities for that hour of darkness, all I’ve got so far is poker and board games. How will you be spending your hour without electricity?

Picture-http://www.starz.com/

17 thoughts on “I’m Spartacusssss!

  1. artman2112

    never seen this show but i LOVE the movie with Kirk Douglas. i also love 300 so i should probably check this out some day.

  2. Lynn

    I like the original movie…with Kurt Douglas, I think? …so I’ll have to put this one on my summer viewing list. I’m really interested to hear what you think of Rome. We heard so many good things about it from so many people that we downloaded it last year to watch. We really didn’t like it at all! Everything was so cheesy and the drama seemed so artificial. The scripts especially were horrible — everything was so clunkly, like “Hello there, Fortus, cousin of my wife and champion in battle! How have you been, now that you are returned from the fighting at Colassus, where they have been fighting lo these five years?” BLURGH.

    Anyway, if you love it it’ll maybe inspire me to give it one more try.

  3. get off my lawn

    I am travelling for earth hour. Don’t be in your house is the easiest way to leave everything off. Rome was a good series. If you like violence, Rome will entertain you. I haven’t seen the Spartacus series. But I’m Spartacus!

  4. Pauline Post author

    Robin-Really? It doesn’t throw me off at all! Hmmm…;)
    Artman-Y’know I should really rent the original with Kirk Douglas. It looks great! 🙂
    Lynn-The characters in Rome and Spartacus speak in a more elevated way, which I guess is how the Roman elite spoke back then. But it does take some getting used to that is true! I’ll let you know what I think of Rome!
    Get off my lawn-I’m Spartacus!!! 😉

  5. Kal

    This is good stuff. Great characters and good insight to the way men are around each other. That cock word gets thrown around way too much but someone is trying to bring it back into the vernacular. I love the crowd scenes at the colleseum. They be trippin’.

  6. Sadako

    Haven’t seen it yet either…kinda want to now, for the cheese factor at least!

    I second watching Rome. It was actually really great. Not unintentionally funny but often genuinely witty. Gripping. Great acting. Beautiful sets. Cannot say enough good things about Rome.

  7. XUP

    I always find it hilarious when the Hollywood movie people wake up after having sex in their underwear and/or wrapping an entire bedsheet around themselves when they get up -HELLO! You just had sex with this person (your wife, even) and now you’re wrapping up like a mummy?

  8. brad

    Totally agree about vivid violence and sex imagery. Do it, or don’t. But the heavy petting and pathetic combat scenes play it safe and can get boring.

    (And probably going to spend the hour with a guitar.)

  9. bevchen

    Ozh, Earth Hour. I hadn’t realised it was today. Hmm, I guess I’ll be spending it sitting alone in the dark… unless I can find enough candles to see my books by…

  10. Pauline Post author

    Kal-I was going to mention their over-fondness for the word “cock”, its too funny! The crowd scenes are pretty funny too, all those crazy women missing teeth with their boobs hanging out!
    Sadako-The cheese factor and the sex definitely make it worth watching!
    XUP-It does seem a strange time to decide to suddenly be modest. Forget the sheet, we want to see nudity damnit!
    Brad-Not a plugged in electric guitar I hope! 😉
    Bevchen-You could also get some flashlights.

  11. Chris

    Never seen Spartacus: Blood and Sand, but then again I don’t watch much TV anyway. Still, it sounds good.

    I did the BBQ thing last night and made cheeseburgers, which I guess in some way is Earth Hour friendly. Was planning to go out, but ended up staying in.

  12. Pauline Post author

    Blueberry-It is good!
    LivitLuvit-Well if he’s into Classical Greco-Roman-themed shows, then he’ll like Spartacus. (Or if he just enjoys sex and violence. That works too!;))
    Chris-It was too cold to go outside for Earth Hour, so you were better off staying inside. 🙂

  13. Foggy Dew

    Yeah, I know I’m jumping in on this one pretty late, but this is a great show. I was hooked from the first episode. The best way to see the old Kirk D version is in a theater, if you can. At a certain point, everyone in the theater starts standing up and shouting “I’m Spartacus!” … and then they all go off to get crucified on the road to Rome.

    @lilu, B’ll love it. Trust.

  14. Pauline Post author

    Foggy Dew-Isn’t it awesome? I definitely want to see the old Kirk D version in a theater. Even if no one else plays along, I will jump and shout: ” I’m Spartacus!!” LOL

Leave a Reply

