Blog award

Meanie has nominated me for a blogger award. Yay! Thanks Meanie!:) Here are the “official” rules: “So, because we are adults, the award comes with rules. These are cool rules though because it is to encourage us bloggers to continue spreading the smiles and to get to know each other better in the process. Here they are:

1. You must thank the person who has given you the award.

2. Copy the award logo and place it on your blog.

3. Link the person who has nominated you for the award.

4. Name 7 things about yourself that people might find interesting.

5. Nominate 7 other Kreativ Bloggers.

6. Post links to the 7 blogs you nominate.

7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs to let them know they have been nominated.”

Admittedly, it’s difficult for me to pick only seven bloggers, because there are so many great writers out there, but here it goes:

1-Marie’s Blog Café : Marie writes about coffee,  feminist issues, traveling and her family. Despite the serious political discussions, Marie also has a great sense of humor and writes about lighter fare as well.

2-Punch it In-Adventurous Kate dishes on her personal experiences from the point of view of a young, woman living in the ‘burbs of Chicago. It constantly amazes me how much I have in common with Kate and can relate to her feelings and experiences.

3-Quack Attack-World according to one cool Vancouverite who used to live in Ottawa. I met her last summer and she gave us a mini-tour of one section of Vancouver.

4-Pinklea-Another cool Vancouver chick. (Who I also met in person!)  Pinklea writes about her experiences being a school teacher and various other subjects, like home reno and getting back into shape. (She’s doing a hell of a lot better than I am! LOL)

And from a more ‘male’ point of view…

5-Funny in Shadows-Humorous musings from one of my favorite blogger misanthropes (The author also has an excellent creative writing blog-Dissassemble the Universe)

6-Art, Movies and Whatnot-One of my new favs. Artman is a very talented artist, who also appreciates classic movies.

7-Blurt-Omawarisan satirizes the best (and worst) of today’s society.

Honorable mentions include: ), Life is not a Movie, Hella Stella, XUP, Get off my Lawn, Live it Love it, A Jersey Kid….O.k. I’ll stop! (See how hard it is for me to just pick seven!)

7 Things about Me:

1. I love animals and the environment and try and do my part to respect and preserve both. 🙂

2. I keep having this dream where I am enrolled in two university science courses and its exam time and I have yet to study. Why? Anyone else have this dream?

3. There are a lot of “female” things that I hate/don’t understand-ie. Panty hose, chick flicks (If I see one more crapfest involving two people who initially hate each other but then fall in luuuv, I am going to scream!) most musicals (No one should be that happy), trend-watching, the obsession with certain cardboard/pretty boy male actors (McSteamy? Really? Meh!) Oprah, soap operas, babies and all baby-related merchandise, etc.

4. I’m a vegetarian but get tired of the somewhat limited food options and unprovoked criticism from certain hypocritical idiotic carnivores. Makes me wonder: I haven’t said anything to them about eating meat, so why are they criticizing me for not eating it? Don’t they always bitch about obnoxious extreme animal rights activists telling us how to live and yet they turn around and do the same thing? I don’t care what people eat, as long as they don’t plan on eating endangered species or serving me with a nice Chianti!

5. I used to do Jujutsu and it was the hardest thing (physically and mentally) that I’ve ever done. Serious torture on some days. But oddly enough, sometimes I miss it terribly and wish I could get my black belt. (Farthest I got was blue belt with two stripes)

6. I am not, nor will I ever be, a morning person. Need coffee to act human!

7. I am very curious and slightly morbid, with a fairly dry sense of humor and I can only stand to talk about boring bullsquat for so long.  I love talking about all sorts of weird and crazy topics!

11 thoughts on “Blog award

  1. XUP

    Right – there ought to be a new formula for romantic fiction. The same damn story line that’s been told and retold since Harlequin romances began and probably long before that. And the weird thing is that it almost never happens in real life. When was the last time you met a real asshole and ended up marrying him?

  2. Marie

    Thank you lady!! You know me well, I love coffee and then there’s other stuff. But COFFEE YUM.

    Pantyhose were created to torture us that’s why I don’t wear them. I think they were also created so that women would have to keep buying them since they manage to always rip the first time I wear them. Again, why I stopped wearing them.

    I totally agree with your #6. Give me my coffee OR ELSE. (I just don’t function at all without it.)

  3. famethrowa

    Re: #2 – Does anyone *not* have this dream???

    I believe it’s trauma from my university years. When I’m stressed, I’d often have this dream even if it was unrelated to the stress I was currently feeling. My brain just kept going back to the most stressful thing it could think of.

    I use the past tense there because that “default stress dream” seems to be changing. Now, about half the time the dream is that I have a flight to catch but I can’t find the gate.

    I think what’s happening is that my brain is slowly forgetting the university trauma (finally! after 10 years!) and is picking up on new main causes of stress: traveling. I don’t get stressed about much, but time-related stuff like catching a plane frays my nerves a bit.

    Re: #4 – People aren’t comfortable with the minority.

    I didn’t drink alcohol until the end of university, and up until then, I often got harassed about why I didn’t drink. It was just my choice, but a few people felt the need to berate me about it. I tried to figure out why, and the only things I could think of were

    1. People aren’t comfortable with things that are different from the norm. They like familiar. They want everyone to be the same.

    2. When people encounter a different way of doing something, it makes them question their own way. Many people are insecure and can’t handle that kind of inner reflection.

    Not sure if there’s truth in these theories…

  4. Pauline Post author

    XUP-I can think of a few women who settled for a-holes, but thankfully I am NOT one of them!
    What’s really funny is how in movies, the guys who are jerks are actually really sweet and sensitive underneath it all. When in the real world, most jerks are just jerks and there isn’t much going on underneath.

    Marie-Yum indeed! And yes, panty hose probably was just invented as a scam to keep us buying more!

    Dr. Monkey-Thanks!

    Famethrowa-Stress eh? Well that would certainly explain it! Its just weird how its always science classes, but I guess those can be pretty stressful!
    As for your other comment, I agree, people don’t tolerate difference very well and are threatened by other peoples choices. Very sad in this day and age.

  5. Foggy Dew

    Chris Knight: “Was it a dream where you see yourself standing in sort of sun-god robes on a pyramid with a thousand naked women screaming and throwing little pickles at you?”

    Mitch Taylor: “No.”

    Chris: “Why am I the only person who has that dream?”

  6. omawarisan

    The vegetarian thing freaks people out. My son’s girlfriend doesnt eat meat and I mentioned it in conversation. Actually had someone ask why I’d “let him see someone like that.” Huh?

    Can’t imagine what you hear from people.

    Thank you for the nomination. It’s extremely generous of you and I appreciate it! I’ll go to work on my post according to the rules.

  7. Kate

    Wow! I’ve never been nominated for a blogger award before. Thanks!

    Regarding this? “7. I am very curious and slightly morbid, with a fairly dry sense of humor and I can only stand to talk about boring bullsquat for so long. I love talking about all sorts of weird and crazy topics!”

    It’s possible we were separated at birth.

  8. Counter Culture Clown

    I’m sure you’ll enjoy my response/acceptance speech. >_> It’s full of rage and hate and a penis joke. So it’s no different than my usual stuff.

  9. Pauline Post author

    Foggy Dew-
    “Kent: You’re all a bunch of degenerates.
    Chris Knight: *We* are? What about that time I found you naked with that bowl of Jell-O?
    Kent: You did not.
    Chris Knight: This is true.
    Kent: Look, it was hot and I was hungry, okay?”
    😉

    Omawarisan-“Let him see someone like that?” Wow. That’s really, really sad! I once had someone ask me how I can ‘hurt poor, defenseless vegetables’ and no they weren’t kidding.
    No problem on the award, I’m looking forward to reading your post. 🙂

    Kate-Quite possibly! I should call you my “American Twin”. 😉

    Counter Culture Clown-Full of rage and hate and a penis joke? Why else did you think I nominated you? 😉

  10. pinklea

    Boy, you get too busy to play on the Intarwebs for a couple of days, and the next thing you know, Pauline has nominated you for an award! Sheesh!

    But, thank you so much! 🙂 I’m not sure if I can nominate only 7 other bloggers, but I can certainly get the award logo on my blog and do up a post about 7 interesting facts about me!

Leave a Reply

