“Starry Starry Night”…

Last weekend I watched the 1956 movie “Lust for Life” and loved it! This  film is about the life and work of the artist Vincent Van Gogh (played by Kirk Douglas) and his many struggles. There aren’t too many movies that I connect with on a deeply personal level, but I felt a deep kinship with Van Gogh’s passion for immersing oneself in painting and drawing.  I also admired his sheer dedication, which was reflected in the film-He sat outside and painted all the time, rain or shine and even attempted to paint during the terrible gales that would send his materials flying! Van Gogh was plagued by anxiety, depression and severe self doubt and was considered strange by others, but he followed his heart and to me, that made him a very courageous and beautiful person.

If you still haven’t seen this movie, rent it! You won’t regret it! Now for some of my favorite Van Gogh paintings:

Starry Night (naturally!)

Blossoming Almond Tree

Skull with Burning Cigarette:

All pictures from: Vincent Van Gogh Gallery-http://www.vggallery.com/

13 thoughts on ““Starry Starry Night”…

  1. Foggy Dew

    Have you ever seen “The Agony and the Ecstasy” ? It’s another good one about the painting of the Sistine Chapel with Charlton Heston and Rex Harrison as Michangelo and the Pope.

    Great Van Gogh choices. They brighten the day. Even the skull.

  2. Pauline Post author

    Foggy Dew-No, I haven’t seen that, but thank you for the recommendation. I will rent it ASAP.
    As for the skull painting, well I do love some morbid art. 🙂

  3. writerdood

    I have Starry Night on a coffee mug. My wife likes Monet better than VanGogh, though, so we don’t have much else by him. We only got the mug because it was on sale at Starbucks after Christmas. It does look pretty cool though, and the coffee you drink out of it tastes almost as good as the coffee from the Monet mug that we got at Costco.

  4. Pauline Post author

    LA Cochran-Me neither until I did some research. Beautiful isn’t it?
    Writerdood-So the print on a mug affects how good the drink inside will taste. Interesting. LOL
    Another great artist from that time period is Edouard Manet. He did beautiful paintings of women, ballerinas and bar scenes. I wonder if there is a movie about him..hmm..

  5. XUP

    Poor old Vincent. That song about him always choked me up, too. It doesn’t seem right that he had to live like that and now his stuff is selling for millions, does it?

  6. Pauline Post author

    Writerdood-Good call! 😉
    Blueberry-I like his Sunflower paintings as well, but the three I picked really speak to me. 🙂
    XUP-I read that he only sold one painting during his entire lifetime! One! Most people would give up after that, but not him. That man embodied tenacity!

  7. Fame Throwa

    Thanks for the post! We’ve been trying to find some art for our kitchen that we both like, and Blossoming Almond Tree is a great choice.

    What’s funny is that I had never seen it before your post, and yet last night while out shopping for note cards, I saw it again!

  8. artman2112

    i saw the original Starry nights in NYC many years ago. unbeleivable painting! I also saw his cafe interior painting, the one with the pool table, a few years ago, omg, so intense!!
    lust for Life is a masterpiece. i’ve seen it so many times i’m quite sure i can recite the dialogue along with it. Kirk shoulda won the Oscar that year, man talk about being robbed!

  9. Pauline Post author

    Artman-Wow! You are so lucky to be able to see the original paintings up close and personal!
    I definitely agree that the movie is a masterpiece and Kirk was robbed of that award! He breathed such life into that role!

Leave a Reply

