Grad Party and Brunch

This weekend was Hubby’s graduation party, organized in secret for weeks, by me. Honestly, it was kinda stressful planning it-There were a million things to do and buy, the backyard had to be spruced up, some people couldn’t be bothered to RSVP, etc. But, in the end it all worked out and lots of people showed, some even came from as far as Toronto.  Big thanks to everyone who came and to my mom for helping me out. This was one of the decorations strung up at literally the last minute.

I also ordered a cake for the event-Chocolate with vanilla icing and it was great! (The only downside was the blue icing kinda got smeared everywhere and left our guests with very sexy blue tongues and teeth!)

One funny thing happened-Midway through the party, Hubby and some people were in our backyard socializing and BBQ’ing when there suddenly there were yells and screams. I asked one of his friends what happened after he came inside and he told me that “someone” turned the hose on and Hubby stepped on it, which caused the hose to spray everyone in the backyard, particularly Hubby, who then had to change his clothes. LOL! Woops! (I knew I forgot something…)

The next day, we went out for brunch with some friends and of course, we had to stop by the Comic Book Shoppe a few stores down from the restaurant to browse the items. I quite like this sexy figure of Mystique:

and life-sized Yoda:

I also couldn’t resist buying two more “Preacher” comics, as well as “Hellboy” and “Sin City“. It’s funny, I was never really into comics when I was a teenager. My interest in them started just a couple years ago with my brother’s recommendation to read Preacher and ever since then I’ve started devouring them. (Most women my age read Oprah’s picks, chick-lit or romance novels, while I read comic books and horror novels.) But this stuff makes me happy and that’s what matters right? 🙂

12 thoughts on “Grad Party and Brunch

  1. kilax

    Aren’t planning parties stressful? We did a surprise 50th for my mom last June and one for my dad in 2006. Totally worth it though! Congrats to the Hubby and to you for throwing a great party (hose and all)!

  2. mindfulmerchant

    Party planning is stressful. It sounds like you were able to sit back and enjoy it too which is tricky to do sometimes. Says a lot about you and your hubby that people travelled a long way to attend. Congratulations!

  3. Chris

    Congratulations and all the best!

    And that IS a cool Mystique. Yoda’s pretty neat too. I gotta check this shop out one day!

  4. Kate

    Aren’t hoses fun? We got sprayed by one at a party on Memorial Day weekend … totally intentionally. Our friend who sprayed us is lucky it was hot out!

    And now I want cake.

  5. Pauline Post author

    Kilax-In the end it was worth it for me too! 🙂
    Mindfulmerchant-Thanks and yes it can be very hard to enjoy your efforts at party organizing sometimes. I was constantly moving stuff around the room and doing things at the start, but towards the end I just said screw it and sat down and had a beer.
    Chris-This store is on Clyde avenue which is fairly close to where you are located.:)
    XUP-LOL. Me too!
    Fame throwa-At the start of the party, I was swore that I would never do it again, but thinking about it now, maybe. Probably at a different location other than our house though.

  6. Pauline Post author

    Kate-LOL. Hoses ARE fun! I could go for some more cake too..hmmm
    LiLu-Yay! Another woman who appreciates comics!
    Writerdood-Argh! They are expensive! But I guess all that work that goes into them justifies the cost.:)

Leave a Reply

