My Latest Work

Feeling adventurous, I have started painting on wooden objects. The first wooden thing I bought was a wine carrying case from a consignment shop. I primed most of it and painted grape vines on the sides and a wine bottle on the front. Since this will be a gift to Hubby’s parents and they make their own wine, the bottle will have Hubby’s last name on the label.

Now let me tell you, if you don’t put gesso on the wood, like I opted not to do, wood is harder to paint on, as mistakes are more challenging to fix.  But I do love the idea of functional objects being creative, so I’m going to keep painting on various objects-trays, signs, bread boxes, chairs, etc.

Perhaps next I will paint Mocha-our friend’s cross-eyed kitty. Isn’t she sweet? We met her after brunch a couple of posts ago.

8 thoughts on “My Latest Work

  1. XUP

    That’s a gorgeous wine case and you’re doing a really nice job on it. They’re going to be so thrilled with it — I would be and I don’t even have any place to carry my wine to! How many bottles does that hold? It’s hard to get a perspective of size from this photo.

  2. Pauline Post author

    Robin-Thanks!
    XUP-It only holds one bottle, but they might make ones that hold more. (Great excuse to drink more wine!;))
    Lynn-Thanks and it should be done soon! 🙂

  3. Get Off My lawn

    You can’t paint on the cat! Cat’s aren’t functional! What the Hell!

    In order for wood to take paint well, you have to do a lot of sanding. With old finished pieces, you have to get rid of all previous finishes. Stain, varathane, what have you.

    Too much work for me. But you are capable of doing a beautiful job.

  4. Pauline Post author

    Get off my lawn-LOL. Strap a couple of backpacks to Mocha and she could be very functional. 😉

    From what I’ve learned so far-Some wooden pieces come almost ready to paint, all you have to do is coat them first with wood sealant and then you can paint on them. However, yes, with many you do have to sand them first. But I’m going to Home Depot today to buy some sand paper.

    Thank you for the compliment and wish me luck on other wooden objects.:)

Leave a comment