Some Spontaneity for Canada Day weekend

I was sitting at my desk on Wednesday, anxious to go home,  fantasizing about french fries-Hubby and I are on diets-and wondered what to do for Canada Day. I pictured us sitting around in our house this long weekend or fighting the crowds and hellish driving in the Glebe, to get to his friends “Canada Day party”. Finally I said “screw that!” and booked us a suite at Fairmont Tremblant in Québec.  I love Ottawa and have lived here all my life-but spending the country’s birthday in its capital just does not appeal to me anymore! Too many crowds, too much insanity. Plus, the Queen was here, so naturally there was a rush to see her. (Personally? Meh!)

Fairmont was also selected because we’ve been sitting on a gift certificate to its hotels for two years now (it was a wedding present) and I decided it was high time we spent it! Fairmont is out of town, but not too far out of town, so it was perfect. Or at least it was when we finally arrived. ( I like Québec, but driving in it, not so much. There are nowhere near enough signs and they aren’t in common sense location. Mapquest also gave us horrible directions and we were literally driving around in circles until this very nice gas station attendant helped us with a homemade ready-made map to Tremblant! LOL. Just goes to show you how easy it is to get lost there and not to rely on Mapquest! )

The next morning, I whipped out my camera to get some pictures. The weather was weird-pouring rain one minute, and then bright and sunny the next. Here are some of the photos I took:

and view from the gondola ..

Here is one of the typical walk ways throughout the town:

It looks  European doesn’t it? Mont Tremblant reminds me of Switzerland with beautifully coloured houses decorating mountains and most of all, it is also a huge ski resort in the winter.

Here is sunset from our hotel. Canada Day was on Thursday and we watched beautiful fireworks and listened to the music from our room.

We ate, walked, shopped, swam and that was pretty much it! Also exactly like Switzerland, Fairmont hotels are INSANELY expensive, so there wasn’t much we could do, but I still had a great time! By the end of our mini-trip, I still owed them $200 , despite having a fairly hefty gift certificate. So yes, only go if you have lots, and lots of cash!

When we returned to Ottawa, my brother and his girlfriend came over to visit. My brother, like me, is a total geek and loves all things comic, video game and movie related. He also loves to film things and goes to Comic-con’s and other such events fairly regularly so we watched some of his footage of one of those events. He told me that there will be a huge Fan Expo in Toronto next month, so I’m hoping (and praying) that I will be able to go! The rest of the weekend was spent with my immediate family and relaxing.

How did you spend your long weekend?

14 thoughts on “Some Spontaneity for Canada Day weekend

  1. omawarisan

    That looks like the spontaneous decision was the absolute correct one. What a beautiful place!

    I’m on the Outer Banks of NC, where the Wright Brothers first flew. A different and highly recommended kind of beautiful.

  2. Ashley

    I’ve never been to Quebec and your pictures made me fall for its charm! Maybe if I spoke French I would go there. Is Ottawa charming like that too? Anyway, I’m glad you seemed to have had a good time.

    I know what you mean about crowds being a deterrent on Canada Day — on other holidays too like New Years and Halloween. I live in Toronto and the crowds here get annoying. It’s just not worth it to me.

  3. Pauline Post author

    Omawarisan-It is beautiful. I’d like to go to North Carolina at some point, it sounds quite nice!
    Ashley-French helps, but the people at the resort also speak English. You’ve never been to Ottawa?! Well then you must visit sometime! 🙂 It is a very charming city if I do say so myself. (Just don’t come during the winter! lol)

    Living in Toronto and hating crowds must be tough! I’ve been there several times and it is pretty packed! How did you spend Canada Day?

  4. Foggy Dew

    Looks like a lovely place to visit. A real change of pace from life in the big city.

    That said, for me, there was no other place I wanted to be on July 4 than on the Mall in D.C. … except for maybe the exact opposite: a small town parade and fireworks show. The night was hot and muggy, the crowd was huge and it made me happy to be a part of the whole celebration.

    On another note: As someone who vacationed in the Outter Banks (OBX) for 20 years growing up, you’ve gotta go. Probably some of the prettiest beaches around.

  5. XUP

    I love Fairmont hotels. If you become a Fairmont member you get deals which can make a stay as inexpensive as in a regular hotel. And it’s always worth whatever extra you have to pay anyway because they really know the meaning of the term “client service” — unlike some other hotels I’ve visited over the years.

  6. tobeme

    Sounds and looks like you chose a great way to spend your weekend. Me? I simply relaxed and visited with family, spent a lot of time on the patio enjoying good weather and wonderful people.

  7. Kate

    My husband sometimes works at the Fairmont and I know just how expensive it can be! I am sitting on my own credit card bill from the Westin from when my mom was in town. 😦

    Sounds like you had a great time, though! We spent the long weekend fishing, boating, watching fireworks and grilling with friends. Good stuff.

  8. Pauline Post author

    Foggy Dew-Sounds like you had fun! I’m going to mosey (yes, I’m using the word mosey!) on over to your blog to see if you took any pics!:) Outer Banks eh?…I will file that away on my ‘must visit list’.
    XUP-Fairmonts are pretty fantastic I agree. But I hate how you have to pay for parking! Rip-off! Perhaps I will become a member when we have more disposable income.:)
    Tobeme-That sounds great too!
    Kate-It is pricey and hotels in general are pretty much a rip-off! But sometimes you just have to go for it and splurge!:)

  9. Ashley

    I don’t think I did anything for Canada Day! I know… I’m a poor sport. But I did sing O Canada at a club the night before. Haha. Yes, it took me a while to get used to Downtown Toronto crowds. Now I kind of like them. It’s not like they slow traffic on the streets or anything.

  10. Marie

    That looks GORGEOUS! However I will not be going there anytime soon as I do not have hoards of cash. 😉

    So glad you had such a lovely time! It’s so good to get out from where you live and see/do something different.

Leave a Reply

