Long Weekend

It was a nice long weekend. Art, relaxing, dinner with D’s parents-all good stuff.On Friday, we went out to a pool hall for a going away party for his bartender friend, Mark. Mark, is moving to Vancouver, so he invited us out for one last round of drinks and pool. Mark is a nice, but tough guy. Think Henry Rollins with fewer tattoos.ย  After a few drinks, Hubby and I played pool and of course he kicked my butt because I have only played a handful of times, while Hubby used to be part of a pool league!

On Saturday, we cleaned up a bit and went to the Cumberland Market for some fresh produce.

There wasn’t as much for sale as we had hoped, so we still ended up going to the grocery store after wards, but at least we bought some stuff and supported local farmers. ๐Ÿ™‚ Jen came over and after chatting and food and drink (I try to be a good hostess), we went to work. We began working in grey scale and painted squares from white to black, as well as painted an orange and mug in the same shades.

Eventually, we will move on to colour, but it is important to learn about value and shading first. She also took some pictures of me for portrait work next week. ย (Question: Do you guys like how you look in pictures? Because sometimes I look o.k., but other times , I swear I look exactly like Rizzo the rat from The Muppets! LOL) ย Saturday evening we went to the dog park with Selena and I took this picture of her playing with Lemon. They really bounce off each other, it’s kind of like modern dance except with fake snarling and drool:

On Sunday, Hubby and I moved one of my parents sheds to the other side of their backyard and we watched a video of their brand spankin’ new house! I am SO very excited for them! I know moving is a lot of work, but it is thrilling! Holiday Monday, I did some more painting and we went to his parents for dinner. I gave his parents that wine case I made and I hope that they like it! I will probably make more like them! (Assuming I can find more blank wooden wine cases)

That’s the recap, I hope you guys had a nice long weekend!

12 thoughts on “Long Weekend

  1. neeroc

    Sounds lovely. I’m ashamed to say I haven’t made it to any of the local markets yet this year!

    Great description of the dogs playing too. The drool always cracks me up.

  2. Pauline Post author

    Neeroc-Well I hope you can make it at some point during the summer. Lots of great stuff for sale! (Even if they are small like the Cumberland one)

  3. Alissa

    I’ve become obsessed with local markets. The produce just tastes soooo much better!

    I don’t think anyone likes the way they look in photos!

    I do enjoy your drawing though. It’s been so long since I’ve even attempted!

  4. XUP

    You seem to have a really nice relationship with D’s folks. That’s really nice. That’s all I wanted to say — that I noticed you all seem to be very fond of each other. I don’t know why that should be noteworthy, but it is. Because it’s really nice.

  5. Pauline Post author

    Alissa-The produce does taste better-fewer pesticides and much more fresh.:) Thanks and you should try drawing again! It’s fun!
    XUP-Thanks! We are fond of each other and I’d like to think we have accepted each others quirks. I’m not 100% relaxed with them all the time, but I’m close enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Lua

    Sounds like you had a great time! And noooo- no way! I never liked the way I looked in the photos, youโ€™re not alone on that one ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pauline Post author

    Pearl-Isn’t it great! I love short weeks!:)
    Lua-It’s difficult for many of us women to like how we look in photos, when we are constantly inundated with images of photoshopped starving actresses and models! But I will just try and focus on my good points and not think so much about the bad!

  8. quackattack

    1. If your hubby’s friend needs an acquaintance in Vancouver, let me know. It never hurts to know a friend of a friend when new to the city.

    2. I want to see video of this “modern dance” you speak of! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Pauline Post author

    Quackattack-Thanks, that is very kind of you. If I speak to Mark again before he moves, I will mention your name. (Your real one, of course)
    Perhaps I will start videotaping the shenanigans at the dog park. Lord knows I take enough pictures there, might as well take videos. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Pauline Post author

    Pattypunker-No problem, mwuah! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Selena and Lemon are fun to play with and watch them chase each other around the park. I wish I had half of their energy!

Leave a Reply

