September Long Weekend

Labour Day weekend was pretty lame this year due to the weather. It was boiling hot and sunny during the work week but then as soon as the weekend neared, the weather promptly turned cold and rainy. This obviously was a bit of a kick in the pants, particularly for those who escaped to a cottage or camp site this year.ย  After some debate, Hubby and I neither camped nor cottaged (His aunt owns a cottage, but it is heavily occupied by her son and daughter-in-law during the summer), and instead relaxed at home and tried to make the best of it.

The best of it meaning we played video games, ate lots of food and only ventured outside for a few hours. During one of those treks outside, we went to Petrie Island. It was windy and cold, but it was still nice to walk around a park for a bit:

After walking around, my ears started to sting from the cold, so we went back home and then did some errands.

The only other activity of note this weekend was a trip to one of my favorite dog parks-Bruce Pitt Park. On Monday morning, the skies were clear and I thought: ‘Finally! Some decent weather’

But when we got into the car and started driving west, dark, gloomy clouds started to form and that pretty much ended my hopes for a nice long excursion in puppy land and it began raining within the first forty minutes . %&*^%!

Luckily, however, I still managed to get some pictures:

This St.Bernard was such a cutie, I had to take some photos of him, and when I approached with my camera, his handler ordered him to pose for me, which is unusual. (Most people just look at me like I’m a dog nut, which I am) “He’s a therapy dog and should be used to having his picture taken”, she said, ordering him to sit over and over.ย  I’m not a stickler for posing, since animals aren’t people, and don’t sit still for as long. But I think he posed pretty well.

That’s about it for the weekend. I hope your weekend got some better weather!

13 thoughts on “September Long Weekend

  1. Alissa

    I looooove, love, love St. Bernards and I love that she made him “pose”. He’s adorable.

    It was frigid this weekend. I was sick, so I didn’t get to enjoy it either way.

  2. hippie cahier

    Dog pictures, yay! I’m sorry it was cold and rainy. Occasionally I like those kinds of weekends, but I don’t think the end of summer is the best time for one. Hope you have sunny skies ahead….

  3. pinklea

    We didn’t have great weather here either: almost torrential rains on Labour Day, cloudy with some sun the other two days, and bloody cold the whole time! Summer’s definitely over.

  4. Zhu

    Your picture is Petrie Island is really nice! Yep, that was exactly what the weather was last WE. And now it’s hot again… go figure!

  5. Pauline Post author

    Alissa-St.Bernards are pretty adorable, lots of fur though. I’m sorry you were sick and hope you feel better soon!
    Colleen-I like the quiet too, but some pleasant excitement before winter sets in would be good too! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!
    Hippie cahier-Thank you and me too!
    Pinklea-Awwww…I miss summer already!
    Zhu-Admittedly the wind did look cool blowing through the trees, but walking around in it was less fun. Stupid weather! ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Laura

    The weather was blah last weekend thought it was kind of nice to wind down the kids for school. I love the dog pictures. Is Bruce pit for big dogs only? We have a little puppy and anyone I know who goes, have big dogs. Just wondering…

  7. Pauline Post author

    Jen-The trees do look cool.:)
    Laura-We have a cocker spaniel and they aren’t very big and we take her there all the time. Bruce Pitt is for all types of dogs-big and small.
    Maybe we could get some dog owner bloggers together and have a play date.:)
    Thoughtsappear-‘Twas windy. Bernards are big teddy bears. I love giant breeds, they are so cute!

  8. neeroc

    I was disappointed that we didn’t get to watch the balloons this weekend (man could you imagine being up in one of those?)

    Love, love the dog pics, and I’m right around the corner from the pit, but my huskies don’t do so well there.

  9. Pauline Post author

    Neeroc-I would love to go up on a hot air balloon ride, but it really is a weather dependent activity.
    That’s too bad that you’re so close but your pups have trouble there. But there’s plenty of other ways for them to burn off some energy. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Pop Champagne-They are cute eh and yes that day was too cold for September!

Leave a Reply

